Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Gladstone, MO
Students enrolled: 924

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Antioch Middle School 4

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
My child is an 8th grader at Antioch, She likes it as much as any teenager likes school. I've never had a problem with teacher or staff but did find it annoying that they changed bus riding policy this year. Friends can't ride the bus home with my daughter. I can understand maybe they had issues so they had to change but its annoying.

Antioch Middle School 1

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
In my daughter s three years at Antioch, she was regularly and severely bullied and harassed. The administration did NOTHING for her, in spite of their anti-bullying policies. They never disciplined the girls who were tormenting her, and actually implied that it was her fault. It got so bad she had a nervous breakdown in 7th grade. She missed 30% of 8th grade because of ulcer pain/stomach cramps and severe headaches caused by stress. There were teachers who were "okay", but many seemed to spend more time keeping the peace than teaching. The art teacher did a lot to try to squash her natural talent. There were fights (including blood!), kids coming to class stoned, and kids saying f*** you to the teachers and arguing with them, cutting learning time. We were finally able to move to a new (better) school district. She is now a totally different girl. She gets As and Bs instead of Ds and Fs, has a smile on her face when she gets home, is learning at a higher level, and has a great art teacher. She's in a positive environment where she s SAFE and supported. I wish we could have gotten her out sooner but am glad her brother won t have to go there.


Antioch Middle School 5

Posted June 26, 2012
- a community member
this is an excellent school i suggest kids go their because they teach what u need to know for the next grade level while having fun!!!! student graduated 8th grade

Antioch Middle School 3

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
I have two kids at Antioch. I have had mixed results with teachers and administrators. There is too much emphasis on attendance and MAP testing. Kids are not allowed to attend certain functions if they are sick, for example, and miss school. This only encourages kids to go to school sick! Attendance is important, but address the ones that aren't attending due to other reasons, other than sickness. There needs to be better communication between teachers and parents. More sports activities should be offered beginning in 6th grade. Very limited sports. Prinicipal and VP's okay, but not very helpful when problems arise. Most helpful have been the counselor with class schedules, changes, and discussion.

Antioch Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a student
I attend Antioch Middle School as an eighth grader right now, and I think that it's a good school. They do care about the well-being of their students, we are the number one school in MAP testing because we are just that good. If I got the decision to pick my school, Antioch Middle School would come out on the top because most teachers are great, administrators are on top of things, and MOST students there are well disciplined, as to how to behave during school.


Antioch Middle School 5

Posted December 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Antioch Middle School 1

Posted October 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Antioch Middle School 4

Posted July 10, 2008
- a student
Antioch is a great school when it comes to academics. Most of the teachers are really helpful, but the administrators are not the best. It seems like to me that they only care about being the number one school according to the MAP testing every year, instead of the happiness and well-being of their students. Some of the individual grades are completely out of control. AMS needs to show the students who's in charge while still allowing them a feeling of joy when attending their classes. Three-and-a-half stars.


Antioch Middle School 5

Posted November 13, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Antioch Middle School
2100 NE 65th St, Gladstone, MO  64118
(816) 413-6200
Last modified Antioch Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Antioch Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top