Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Linden West Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2014

My school has wonderful staff and activities. My son has been very lucky with his teachers so far at Linden West and they are always so caring and involved with his learning. I am very pleased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

Love Linden West! My Son is a 5th grader and my daughter is in 3rd. Both my children have attended Linden West since Kindergarten. They both LOVE and are PROUD of their school. Principal Carla Forbes is remarkable. Each teacher my children have had showed real concern and caring. The PTA is very active and is always looking for more input. I can't say enough good things about my family's experience with Linden West
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

My children have attended this school for over 6 years & It has been an up & down hill experience & the main reason we chose to move to a better school. My eldest entered as a Kindergartner reading at 2nd grade level and was held back for "maturity" issues. The second teacher said he was bored stiff & did everything she could to challenge him in his second year in K. She also told us that she would not have made that decision. It was a blow to his self esteem & we still battle with it today as his is teased constantly at school for being a year older than everyone else. My second child took was entering Kindergarten & I had him evaluated & knowing he had some issues. The school said he tested very low & we would need to get him diagnosed so they could place him. No matter how wonderful my health insurance was it took more than 8 Dr.s before the last one said the school MUST place him & help him without a diagnosis. It took a year but he finally entered. He is receiving help & his counselors are doing a magnificent job. He has grown in leaps & bounds but the initial experience of getting him help left a bad taste in our mouths losing the accreditation was the last straw...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

I have 3 children that have attended Linden West, I have had some issues with each, my daughter was advanced and the school did nothing to challenge her, my son needed special help and received a little but ended up getting lost in the crowd my youngest daughter was just pushed through and didn't get any individual attention from most teachers there. Out of my 9 years total of experience with Linden West I can only find minimal things good about them. We had one TERRIFIC teacher who really made my youngest feel good and excell but the other teachers are just like the rest of the school, adequate and barely meeting standards. I have moved my children from this school and their new school is so far advanced in ciriculum compared to Linden West that my children are extremely behind and are in after school tutoring to get them up to the minimum level there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

My son attended Linden West from Kindergarten to the end of 4th grade and in his last year there was a LOT of talk about some kids that were fighting a bullying children. Facebook post of children comparing themselves to each other in a fight. My son told me that there is very few teachers on the play ground and the teachers that are watching are visiting with each other which left opportunities for these children to fight and bully without being "SEEN". When reports of fighting or bullying has occurred the child has been allowed to still attend school because he wasn't "SEEN" even if children witnessed the occurrence. Luckily my son was never a victim of this bulling but it is still a shame. NO TOLERANCE POLICY should be FULLY enforced to the highest level. Otherwise you give the bully the impression that they can do what they are doing as long was no one is watching plus you can't just have a parent teacher conference meeting and believe that things are going to change. Some parents simply aren't going do anything to correct their child's behavior until it becomes their problem. Suspend them, then it will be. Parents should be able to send their children to school w/out fear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

And the poster below is not telling you the truth completely either. As I do not believe the school has boring curriculum at all, I do know that there is VERY VERY poor communication between the teachers and parents. Linden West DOES HAVE a music program and even introduces instruments as well. It is very diverse and has the whole world experience for sure. Linden Wests principal is very busy and does not have a lot of time to divide and although there is a diverse school there is SO MUCH BULLYING that goes on in this school. I personally KNOW families from this school who are considering taking their children OUT of this school based on the the fact they don't treat Bullying very seriously or as seriously as they should. Also there program for Disabled children is WAY UNDER PAR and in desperate NEED of a special needs team that has more experience in teaching children with handicap. It is a normal school in the NORTH KANSAS CITY SCHOOL DISTRICT. Good and Bad and unfortunately not much is done to PROTECT children from other children.


Posted May 13, 2011

The reviewer below is simply not relaying the truth. I was employed with Linden West during and we always had music and art. Ms. Forbes is an outstanding principal, one of the best I've worked with in numerous states and districts. The staff is dedicated, the parents groups are supportive. It is a small elementary that teaches district approved curriculum that is standards based and approved from the Missouri Department of Education. It recently was eligible to receive Title 1 funds and is a beautifully diverse school with different ethnicities and languages. It's obvious this person wasn't happy with the school for some reason which is unfortunate.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 8, 2008

I'm truly surprised for the high reviews for Linden West Elementary School. Maybe my wife and I expect too much having come from another district. There's nothing to great about this school (maybe a teacher here and there). The school has low expections for their teachers (so their all labeled 'great with no need for improvement', and high student:teacher ratios, poor communication from teachers, boring curriculum, very little outside the box and hands-on learning. The school is small and crowded (government money is going where?) has no art or music classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

Linden West is a wonderful school. My oldest daughter recently finished Kindergarten there and my youngest will be starting in August. The teachers there are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

Linden West is an excellent neighborhood school that embraces a 'whatever it takes' attitude to help each child succeed. Staff and administrators work tirelessly to help each and every child reach their maximum potential. This is by far the best school in the Northland.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 5, 2007

I have a kindergartener and so far, I love it! I was a little afraid about how my son would do at the beginning of the year, but he is already reading! They also have a lot of 'extra' activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

Love Linden West! My son is a first grader and can not wait to get to school every day. He learns, he has fun, what more could we ask for?Looking forward to next year when our daughter will be at Linder West too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

This is a wonderful neighborhood school. All three of our children attended K-5 here and it was an enjoyable experience for the whole family. There is a strong PTA presence and this interaction with the faculty and administration is vital in defining a school as more than walls and desks. It is a multi-faceted community whose aim is the children's intellectual, social, and physical development. All of our kids graduated from Linden West with a firm grasp of basic subject matter, individual 'self', and a sense of duty within the greater community. All of the faculty with which we interacted were dedicated, professional, loving persons of integrity. This school was a great start for a lifetime of learning for our children and I'm extremely glad we were in their attendance area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

This is our second year at Linden West, the teachers there are wonderful! My daughter is advanced in most areas, however , she is not advanced enough to make the PACE program and is bored with the regular activity and nothing has been done to chalenge her. This is a great district for 'average' children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students34%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White38%
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 74%
Hispanic 19% 5%
Black 17% 17%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carla Forbes
Fax number
  • (816) 413-4755

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7333 North Wyandotte St
Gladstone, MO 64118
Phone: (816) 413-4750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakhill Day School
Gladstone, MO



Clardy Elementary School
Kansas City, MO



Barry School
Kansas City, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT