Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grandview Christian School

Private | K-12 | 122 students

 
 

Living in Grandview

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

My daughter currently attends 6th grade at this school. She started 5th grade here last year. She LOVES the school and her teacher. I love the fact that the price is reasonable, she's been moved up to 7th grade math since she was advanced when she arrived, and she has opportunities to learn about the word of God all day long. This school is definitely needed and worth the sacrifice to send her. The administration is great, teachers are great and my daughter has never had any issues with other students. Prayerfully she'll graduate from here in 2020.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

I am currently finishing my first year as a teacher here at GCS. I have loved it! I am also a mom of two sons and a daughter attending their first year here. I am so glad we have found this school. We have all loved the teachers and students and environment. The staff is GREAT to work with and the administration is very supportive. The spiritual health of this school has blessed me as we meet every morning for staff devotions to encourage each other in the Word and to pray for each others' needs and those of our students. This is my first time working in a Christian school, and it has been great to openly share of Christ and be able to openly care about not only the academic, but spiritual needs of our students and one another. I am REALLY looking forward to next year as we prepare to conclude this one!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 16, 2012

As a father of children who have previously attended various local public schools, another Christian school, and have been a part of homeschooling for a period of time, I have been VERY pleased with my desicion to enroll my children here and with the general atmosphere of this school. It is my desire to keep my children here until each of them graduate. I appreciate the unique cultural diversity; socioeconomic diversity; the size and the ability for the teachers to care about my children's individual academic needs and success; and their stand on the Word of God. I have been pleased to see the teacher's investment of their time to help work with my kids even many times after school whether with academic matters or spiritual concerns. This school has a staff that GENUINELY care about the heart and training of the kids attending, and that genuinely care about the heart of the family and how they, as a school, can help. STRONG recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

BEST deal for Christian Education we have found! GREAT, updated facility! GREAT, safe, comfortable environment! My son was a little apprehensive at first about changing schools, but he found he LOVED it immediately and is begging to go back in the fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

My daughter has attended GCS since first grade and is now in middle school. We have been pleased that the academics and offerings have continued to improve each year. Most importantly, we have been impressed with the love and dedication shown by the entire faculty throughout her school career. Their devotion to Christ is apparent and it is so wonderful to know she is learning the Biblical way to look at the world. She doesn t want to be anywhere else and we wouldn t have her anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

SO disappointed in this school. IT does not support their teachers, it has horrible leadership, and it is NOT a school that is truly non-denominational. It is an Assembly of God school and if you are not of that denomination they will discriminate against you. They also take any student regardless of their past. They claim to be Christian but do not act that way - I would never send my children to this school based on: LACK of excellence; LACK of teacher support; LACK of Spiritual leadership; If you want to pay money for apathy and lots of empty, chaotic events and programs - go there. Go to Blue Ridge Christian School for substance, or a public school instead! I attest to this first hand and am so sorry for the STATE of this so-called "Christian" school.


Posted October 6, 2011

My daughter attends school here. I am very pleased with the balance of education and the spiritual. The teachers obviously love their jobs and love the children. There is a school uniform but it has relaxed over the last few years. Students can wear any color of solid polo; khaki, black, or navy blue pants; and are allowed to wear solid sweatshirts with no hoodies. The arts have expanded in the last several years, too. There is art for all grades, theatre, music/band, digital arts, and yearbook/journalism. I feel like my child is getting a quality education in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

I went here for 9 years and it had its up and downs. It is very strict and sometimes loses sight as to why, such as not tucking in the polo shirt and wearing Khakis that are too dark will get you sent home for the day. When we resisted and asked, "why?" they pretty much said, "because I said so," and handed us our detention slip. Now that I am an adult, I wish they could have just told us, "because one day you are going to have a job, and we want to train you to look professional." I graduated with a vast understanding of the Bible and Christian values, and am in a MUCH better place than I would be if we had to succomb to densely gang populated public schools. I didn't realize just how much I appreciated and fortunate I was to go there until going to a public college and seeing the contrast. Overall a great school for kids to go to. Woth the money...


Posted June 29, 2005

I went to gcs for two years, before they had moved to their new building. The music arena, aside from the annual ACSI competition, is lacking. There isn't much for a musically-gifted person to do. However, the teachers are very much equipped to do their jobs. The administration knows how to relate to familes and to the kids, and they did it in a very thorough way. The old curriculum (PACEs) is gone now, and the new books are fantastic. GCS mainly revolves around its sports--particularly basketball. Sometimes it burdens students who want to strive academically because they aren't given enough credit. I'd say the worst thing about GCS is the gossip. Students create drama for each other when it isn't necessary. Besides that, the facilities are wonderful, the staff is talented, and the price is exceptionally good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2004

We moved from north of the river, where my children were in public school to Grandview a few years ago. My daughter spent 1/2 year at a public school here, and I pulled her out at the end of that year. There was a lack of discipline, and they were much farther behind the school she left. This school requires discipline, but in a fair and compassionate manner, and is way ahead of the public schools in academics. The teachers are concerned about each individual child and they teach wonderful values. I'll keep them here until they graduate... and that's a long way off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My son had attended a private Catholic school in Kansas City since kindergarten. They claim to be practicing the 'Christskills' of understanding, cooperation, love, equality, etc., however, they had a problem with bullying in several of the grades and in particular they had a teacher that should have retired many years ago. My son's grades fluctuated all over the board, and all his teachers would say was that it was his fault, that he needed more work at home. Since transferring this year to GCS, his grades have consistently been mostly A's and B's, he loves the school, the teachers actually teach, and I do not yet see any bullying happening. So far, we are very happy here. Most importantly he is very happy here. His self esteem has returned and he is more sure of himself thanI have seen him in years. He enjoys going to school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

A great school. Our son was sinking in the poor teaching at his public school. We transferred him to GCS and he has recovered and grown much. I would reccomend GCS to any parent wanting the best for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 74%
Black 42% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dale Hanson - Superintendent
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS
Fax number
  • (816) 763-5029

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Continuation
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12340 Grandview Rd
Grandview, MO 64030
Website: Click here
Phone: (816) 767-8630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT