Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Grandview, MO
Students enrolled: 406

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Meadowmere Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is on it's 4th principal in four years. My 10 year old son says he doesn't learn anything here. I asked his teacher to offer more challenging work for him. It took her two weeks to come up with something. She put him on Khan Academy for a brief time for one day and that was the end of her offering him better curriculum, but he sure has watched a lot of movies at school. I asked the teacher who is in charge of enrichment for new things for him to work on and she talked down to me. She just kept saying he is fine. Refused to even offer him a different spelling list, math, anything.. that might require her to do her job. So disappointed in this school. Lots of schools teach with less money than this school gets. So tired of lazy teachers!

Meadowmere Elementary School 1

Posted August 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Meadowmere Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
This school is awesome. Attend any performance and it is like entering the United Nations. The population is really diverse. The teachers care about the success and improvement of all students, the principal is one of a kind - she knows all the children, calls families she doesn't see regularly just for a check-up, she plays superhero and writes a letter to the student body every week. The core curriculum is strong as well as an outstanding 'specials' program. This is a BASIC school with great emphasis on character education.

Meadowmere Elementary School 4

Posted October 05, 2008
- a parent
Meadowmere has been a great experience for my kids. The teachers and staff are all very caring, the core curriculum is solid. As with any education, parent involvement in nightly reading, math drills & homework is encouraged to enhance lessons. I love the character education - balancing core and life skills learning. 'specials' like art and music are solid/strong. Technology is more advanced than many colleges. The only draw-back is that there are some 'rough' kids to integrate with. If approached well, this exposure can make your kids stronger - that will depend on individual kids' personalities.

Meadowmere Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
The principal at this school is awesome!!! Not only does she know all 400 students on a first name basis, she knows who their parents are, what's going on in their lives, and where they are in the building at all times. Likewise, most of the teachers do an outstanding job. I have one daughter at Meadowmere, and another who just finished 5th grade there, and moved on to the middle school (which, unfortunately, doesn't even come close to being a 'good' school, much less a 'great' one)!


Meadowmere Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is wonderful. Teachers go above and beyond to teach children. They are serious about the learning that is occuring. I would never send my child to another school.

Meadowmere Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
Meadowmere is an amazing elementary school. The character-building initiatives are what make Meadowmere such a great place to be. You can learn reading and math at any elementary school, but what I have found is that the teachers are very caring. They also have a great leader as principal. She knows every child's name. I'm a teacher at a high school outside the Grandview school district. As an educator and parent, I've been very pleased with the efforts made at Meadowmere.

Meadowmere Elementary School 1

Posted July 31, 2007
- a parent
We have been seriously disappointed in the second grade teachers at Meadowmere. We disagree with the methods used to teach math and have found that our child [has] difficulty with the simplest math problems, addition, subtraction and basic word problems. After viewing the Maps scores for this school on this site, we see now why they are so poor by the time they reach third grade. They are not being taught the basic math facts and are taught some 'inadequate point system' to count. What happened to flash cards and memorizing math families? I think the transfer of our child to another school was the smartest move we could make. The principal was no help when asked to intercede and we were disappointed with her lack of leadership. This school needs a major overhaul!


Meadowmere Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Meadowmere Elementary School 5

Posted June 26, 2007
- a parent
Meadowmere provides a wonderful and caring enviroment where teachers partner with parents to help all children achieve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadowmere Elementary School
7010 East 136th St, Grandview, MO  64030
(816) 316-5525
Last modified Meadowmere Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Meadowmere Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top