Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nativity Of Mary School

Private | PK-8 | 373 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Independence

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2013

I have two kids there! We love it. You really have to be dedicated to send your kids to a private school this one is by far THE BEST in Jackson County.. WE HAVE THE BEST PRINCIPAL in the world! Please if you are looking to send your kids to a private school please visit us. I personally wouldn't have it any other way...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

Outstanding school. Great academic programs and excellent teachers. Awesome teacher support for a small school. I would highly recomment to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Nativity was so good to us. My daughter went there for Kinder and she loved it. The support you get from the teachers and staff is wonderful. Its a small school which is great. The school itself seems a little old. But it truely is a hidden treasure. We have since moved back to California and the Catholic school my daughter attends now does not even come close to Nativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

Nativity has a wonderful preschool program. Our daughter started at 21/2 and is now 4 years old. The structure in the class is fabulous! I will recommend Nativity to anyone looking for private preschools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

Both my sons graduated from Nativity. Both are now students at the University of Missouri at Rolla. Nativity gave them a wonderful foundation for learning. When they call from school and tell you they just returned from an activity at the Catholic students center at college, you know you did the right thing by sending them to Catholic school. Nativity is still 'home' to us - it's a wonderful community to become a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

I presonally think this school is a well rounded school but i still think that they should build a high class gym for the sports. The reason why im stating this is becuase the recreation here is one of the top in the diocese. Our P.e. teacher is the best in the diocese and our sports keep on finishing high in the rankings. I suggest them raising money for the gym so the dynasty will continue. Thanks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2004

Both my children attended Nativity of Mary, and are now thriving in high school. It's the best kept secret in Jackson County, Missouri. It was the best place for my children to attend, and I'd do it all again - worth every penney.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

I have three children at Nativity, in 7th, 6th and 1st grades. This is our 9th year there! My children have thrived in the small 'family type' environment. They have excelled academically as well as socially. We would never think of leaving!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Hispanic 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 2% 17%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10021 East 36th Terrace South
Independence, MO 64052
Phone: (816) 353-0284

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Northwood School
Kansas City, MO



Raytown Middle School
Kansas City, MO


Korte Elementary School
Independence, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT