Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Messiah Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 110 students

Close knit family atmosphere, where Christ is woven into each subject taught
 
 

 

Living in Independence

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $64,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

My daughter has gone to Messiah pre-K-6th grade. She has always had small classroom sizes, teachers which showed a personal interest in her education and development, and a challenging curriculum. She absolutely loves going to school, which is important to me. There are many after school sports available beginning in 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

My daughter has gone to Messiah since she was in their Pre-Kindergarten class, now in 1st grade. We have been so pleased with the teaching staff and the learning curriculum. On top of that they are getting the Christian values taught everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

With all the media coverage on Common Core, and the state of education (or lack thereof), I just wanted to share what an awesome school Messiah is. I have been sending children there for 16 years, and have 4 1/2 more to go. The teachers truly love and care about my babies, but aren't afraid to keep them in line. When they mess up, as all kids do, they can be corrected and prayed with, and shown the same forgiveness we all are through Christ. They look at each child as an individual and are willing to think outside the box to get them the education they need to be successful in high school. They understand that not everyone reaches the endpoint in the same manner and doing it differently isn't necessarily wrong. Quality education with caring staff. If you are looking for an option outside of public school I encourage you to call the school and arrange a tour!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I have had children at Messiah for 14 years. I currently have an 8th grader, 4th grader, 2nd grader and a preschool student. This is a school that the teachers really care. Anytime there is an issue, you get a phone call or letter. Cirriculum has helped my older 2 children take far advanced classes in public high school then their peers. This is a school that you get to know the parents and provides a community. The teachers go out of their way to provide individual attention when needed. I highly recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I would recommend Messiah to anyone. I love the relationship that the staff and teachers have with parents. It is a loving family atmosphere. The children's growth and education are of utmost importance. The principal and staff truely want the very best for each and every student and the love of Christ is in full effect. Great job Messiah
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Messiah is amazing! The teachers control bullying and teach great manners, I have looked at other options but keep coming back to Messiah. I know it's right for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I went to Messiah from Kindergarten through 8th grade and I learned alot. I was always challenged and the teachers are great. The principal is really nice and Pastor Patschke is AMAZING!!!


Posted February 25, 2011

Messiah Lutheran is an outstanding Christian grade school located just south of the Independence Square in Independence, Missouri. Messiah Lutheran is set apart by their wonderful faculty. All of the teachers are highly trained and most have been at Messiah for a long time. Above and beyond their nurture, love, and care for the students, Messiah Lutheran has a very stable learning environment. The school excels in academics and music programs. Additionally, Messiah offers full participation sports and competes in the Kansas City Lutheran league. Messiah's Principal is Ann Arndt. She is active in the classroom and also serves as the Band Director. If your interested in a Christian grade school, I would recommend you contact Mrs. Arndt.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Hispanic 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Carl Butz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (816) 254-9407

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Drill Team
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTL
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
25
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
25

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$1000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High School of Kansas City
Truman High School
Fort Osage High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

613 S Main St
Independence, MO 64050
Website: Click here
Phone: (816) 254-9409

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Procter Elementary School
Independence, MO


Bryant Elementary School
Independence, MO


Family Christian Academy
Independence, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT