Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elm Grove Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 355 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

The staff goes above, and beyond to help the students at this school. They did everything they could to help my son get on track, and ahead with his individualized needs. We love Elm Grove, and both of my kids LOVE going to school because of them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

The experience that I have had as a parent with Elm Grove has been great! All the staff is very nice and helpful. They care about the children there! I cant say that I have ever met anyone there that has not gone out of their way to answer my questions! My son ENJOYS going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I love this school!!. There are great hard working teachers who dedicate their extra time when it is not even required of them. I have never had a problem with anything that Elm Grove has changed, thus I know that it is what is in the best for the children. The principle Mrs.Fore is wonderful and works extra hard. My children have had great experiences at Elm Grove. I give the school 5 star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

It is great, The teachers are wonderful , and they have a great lunch staff. I eat with brooke on most fridays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

My son is a 4th grader at Elm Grove (has been here since K) my daughter is in 1rst grade. I absoluetly would promote this school to anyone! The teachers my children have had are wonderful! We have had great experiences and made lifelong friends here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

This is a wonderful school! my daughter has attended for two years and i have been very pleased with every aspect of the school. Her teachers have been wonderful and work very hard to create and impliment lessons that keep the kids excited about learning. The teachers also provide after school tutoring, which i understand is beyond their paid contract hours. Mrs. Fore, the principal has been very helpful. I love to watch her around the kids. You can tell she enjoys working with them as well as the staff. We are moving next year and i am really going to miss elm grove elementary. They really care and want what is best for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

I have been very happy with this school as far as the school environment. My son has gone since kindergarten and has continued to learn and grow with the help of his teachers and principal. I have had some concerns about the new math that is being taught. Fourth grade has been the hardest for my son as I have watched his grades slip a little. I definitely think the school district should go back to the old way of doing math. I was startled to see that in the 4th grade some kids are still having trouble with simple multiplication. I believe basic, simples rules of mathematics should be reviewed and reviewed again to make sure our kids are understanding them completely. It will not do my child any good to know math investigations when he really needs to know how to mulitply, divide, add and subtract!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Unfortunately, I am very disapointed in this school. I intend to do further research as far as the district is concerned. The district hollers about money (not enough) and they purchase textbooks that literally sit in the corner and collect dust. Third graders do not comprehend enough, nor do they retain enough, to simply learn by teachers giving lectures, and handing out 'workbook sheets'. They complain that they don't have enough funding for supplies, yet they still do cut and paste in third grade. As a parent of a student attending this school, I think they need to start teaching the old fashioned way that worked for all of us and quit wasting our money on frivoloties such as a paved track,which the children are not to play on,(at a grade school)and concentrate on the good old school books and education to actually teach and prepare children for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

This school would be better ran by a parent companishant principal. Out of the 5 years my child went to this school he had 2 great teacher 2 good teachers and 1 not so good teacher. If you have a problem with any teacher in this school don't look for support from the principal, you won't get it. My child has always been a A student, my child took the TAG test missed the program by 6 points and score off the charts in the MAP tests and received award from the state of missouri for scoring so high on the MAP tests. Good luck with the principal's help at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White38%
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White31%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 74%
Black 12% 17%
Hispanic 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Pam Fore
Fax number
  • (816) 650-7405

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18000 East Kentucky Rd
Independence, MO 64058
Phone: (816) 650-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Hope Christian School
Independence, MO



Randall Elementary School
Independence, MO




Ott Elementary School
Independence, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT