Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Independence, MO

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fort Osage High School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fort Osage High School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Fort Osage High School 5

Posted July 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fort Osage High School 5

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fort Osage High School 4

Posted January 18, 2008
- a parent
We moved here over 9 years ago after research of the schools on the MO side. I compared to the Shawnee Mission School District in KS. Although, MO didn't meet the 'scores' of KS; F.O. district beat out the Independence and Blue Springs districts at the time. and I believe that F.O. continues to grow and excel in their efforts to teach our children!


Fort Osage High School 1

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
I was very disappointed with F.O.'s high school. My kids have been students in this district since kindergarten, but once my oldest made it into high school, we finally decided we needed to move on! The teachers seem to get as wound up in the drama as the students. I won't miss this school at all - I'm glad I am finished with it!

Fort Osage High School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Fort Osage High School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fort Osage High School 4

Posted February 25, 2006
- a parent
Fort Osage is an especially good school considering the location. As a former student, I can tell you that you won't find better teachers or counselors anywhere. The teachers/counselors have a great volunteer program in which the students can come to them in times of need. The student body is a good size, although getting bigger every year. It's one of those schools where all the students are acquainted. Average teacher-student ratio...smaller classes would probably be helpful, but that would require more funding than the district has available. Great extracurriculars, including football, cheerleading, drama, choir (check out 'Touch of Class'), an award-winning band, and several other clubs and sports. Lots of great opportunities, especially with the Vocational-Technical school next door. There are some issues with favoritism, but all-in-all Fort is a very supportive environment for your kids. The recent construction/remodeling looks sharp, too!

Fort Osage High School 3

Posted April 05, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Osage High School
2101 North Twyman Rd, Independence, MO  64058
(816) 650-7063
Last modified Fort Osage High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fort Osage High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top