Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-6
Public district
Independence, MO
Students enrolled: 741
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fire Prairie Middle School 1

Posted December 21, 2014
- a parent
You have to fight HARD to get them to follow an IEP. The principal and vice pick on students and hold a grudge against younger siblings when they come up. They do not listen to parent covers at all.

Fire Prairie Middle School 1

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
There are several teachers that I have spoken with and substitute teachers...all have said they do not like teaching at Fire Prairie because the principal has a rude behavior towards parents, students and teachers. He uses foul language and berates teachers in front of the student and uses inappropriate bullying tactics. There have been several complaints to the Board of Education and the Superintendent, however, the Superintendent encourages this behavior and reprimands the teachers. I'm not sure what has gone wrong since last year, but this administration is ruining our schools, our children and the educational values at the district.
1 person found this helpful


Fire Prairie Middle School 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
It has been my experience that some of the teachers are prejudicial and use foul language around the kids. The office staff is hot and cold, depending on the day. The principal is rude and condenscending towards parents who bring concerns. In fact, there are problems with the principal and the community, ie KC Royals and Jr Deputy program. Beware of this school!! Other schools (in re: teachers, administrators) in Fort Osage are much better to deal with.
1 person found this helpful

Fire Prairie Middle School 1

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Grading system unfair, teachers do not listen to parents concerns, principal uses foul language around the kids.
1 person found this helpful

Fire Prairie Middle School 5

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fire Prairie Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fire Prairie Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
My children attended K-12 at Fort Osage and things were great. However, my oldest granddaughter is now at the high school and while the teaching is still great, the grading system that binds these teachers is not. One low score on a quiz or a test can ruin good scores on everything else--yes, one score. A good test score can cancel out several zeroes on daily work. What kind of work ethic is this? Also, even though the final grade is the same, by continuing the next term with the ending grade of the previous term, the psychological aspect is not motivating. This means that students may be starting with a B or C (or lower) and then need to work themselves up to the higher grade--instead of giving them the psychological boost of 'This is a fresh start.' It doesn't allow them to see what was earned each term either.

Fire Prairie Middle School 5

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fire Prairie Middle School 5

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
My child goes her and she loves Fire Prairie so I just wanted t osay thank you for that and teaching my child.

Fire Prairie Middle School 3

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
My child attended the Cler-Mont elementary school and I was more than pleased, but since he has started Middle School I haven't been very happy. Like the others here I think the Math program is poor. There is also a 'C' honor role which I find completely laughable. Since when do we reward 'average'?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fire Prairie Middle School
24801 East 24 Hwy, Independence, MO  64058
(816) 650-7158
Last modified Fire Prairie Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fire Prairie Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top