Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Independence, MO
Students enrolled: 614
 

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blackburn Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
The principal and teachers are amazing. Always there to help the students and parents succeed

Blackburn Elementary School 2

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
The teacher to student ratio is incorrect. I have one child in first grade 1:27 ratio and my other child is in 3rd grade 1:26 ratio. This year we have a new principal as well as curriculum changes. If I were asked a year ago I would have rated the school a 10 this year a 3 at best. In fact, I'm currently looking to buy a house somewhere else so my children no longer have to attend this school.


Blackburn Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I have two daughters to go to Blackburn. Ones in first grade ones in 5th grade. Blackburn Elementary is top notch from the faculty to the teacher principal everybody is great.. would not have my kids in any other elementary school.

Blackburn Elementary School 4

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started going here 2 months into Kindergarten and is about to start 2nd grade there. I have yet to find anything to seriously complain about. I have loved all her teachers, including summer school. They seem to really try to make each kid feel individual. We are moving after school starts this year and I'm trying very hard to stay in this school!

Blackburn Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
I love the communication folders that the kids bring home! But I found out Dr. Hunt Retired and was replaced by Laura LaCroix...


Blackburn Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Blackburn Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
We came from the Blue Springs district and have found Blackburn to be a great fit for our family. Dr. Hunt is amazing in the fact that he knows pretty much every students name in the school. I was shocked :) The teachers are also great and easy to work with.

Blackburn Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Blackburn Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Blackburn Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blackburn Elementary School
17302 East R D Mize Rd, Independence, MO  64057
(816) 521-5395
Last modified Blackburn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blackburn Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top