Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Truman High School

Public | 9-12 | 1646 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2013

Worst school ever I go there currently aadministrators are verry rude and blame you for thing sometimes you dont even do once a bad thing happens they hold a gruge forever so overall would not reccomend to anyone


Posted November 5, 2012

I went to a lot of different schools, but this one was the best one I ever went to. The teachers were always helpful, the students were usually nice, and the extra requirements from teachers and principals for the students always made me push myself harder and exceed my own expectations. The counselors helped me through so many hard times. The entire faculty is just so strong at that school. I am so proud to say that I graduated from Truman High School in 2011.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2012

i was a student at this school and personally it was one of the best schools that i ever went to!!! I love the studenst, teachers, and staff. everyone is nice and as long as you stay out of it you dont have drama personaly i had barrly any drama. yes, there is inappopriate language but every highschool will have it no crimes!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2010

Every teacher I've come into contact with is dedicated and hard-working. Each of them puts effort forth and dedicates much of their own free time toward helping the students of our community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Truman has a great group of students and faculty...respectful and hard working. There is a strong parental presence at the various school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

I think truman is great, and against what other people say, truman is a fantastic school. i am currently a sophomore and love truman. we are among the 20 best high schools in the nation, and as a debate student i can say we are in the top 30 of debate schools, as well as having great teachers. We may not have the best sports but is that really what matters in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

Well we will say that I'm still a student at Truman for the fact of, I have not yet walked with my class but no longer attend school. Truman is a great school because they let me be who I wanted and supported me. I will graduate May 17th this year. But before I can do that I have to complete my tech school in the Air Force. Truman High School gave me the chance to do what I never thought I could do, be somebody. I am now out of BMT and in tech school and doing great I got 100% on my last test. All do to Truman and Independence School District. With the programs and academics they offered me, I am now somebody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

I went to this school for all 4 years and was an average student except for the fact that due to an illness I missed a total of 6 months of school overall and no one really noticed except the attendance people, the teachers, are generally caring but unfortunately the only time they paid attention to you was if you were a trouble child or disruptive. I was generally quiet and graduated in 2008 but I doubt any of the teachers remember me just because I didn't disrupt the class I feel that is very sad and unfair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

I taught at Truman High School for two years and enjoyed almost every day. Parent support is fair, but improving with the advent of the online grade book. The facilities at the school have seen better days and are insufficient for the number of students, The faculty and staff is made up of good people. The administrative is wonderful, especially the Gamma House principal. The student body is made up of kids from diverse families and diverse societal influences. Unfortunately too many problem children affect the educational process of other students. The current discipline process is generally ineffective in minimizing the effect of the problem children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2008

Truman is an average urban high school with some really great teachers. Not 100% of the teachers, but most of them really care about their students' progress and try to help in any way they can. I have a daughter in the 9th grade and the teachers have bent over backwards to help her any way they can. The sports aren't the best, but they have improved greatly in the last few years. The academics, while they could use improvement in gifted education, are well above acceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

Truman, truman, truman, I think it's a great school. Many teachers really care about you and your progress, as well as making the school day fun and helps students with a easier understanding. The student body, well its a mixed group, from the jocks to the preps to band kids, to the rockers, they all are so very different but when it all boils down we all get along and even though we are different, I have made so many friends that are very unique. all in all Truman high school is a wonderful place to be each and everyday for me. !
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2007

My son's teachers are great quality individuals!! I was so impressed when I met them at open house. They were all the kinds of teachers that will make a difference and lasting impression in his life
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

Truman is probably your average urban high school with some really great teachers. Not 100% of the teachers, but most of them really care about their students' progress and try to help in any way they can. Example: I was failing 9th grade algebra...the teacher worked really hard with me after school and by the end of the year I had achieved an A+! Also, the English teacher I had that year won an award for his teaching (he really was great). Truman also has a really fantastic library (the thing I miss the most about going there), and the librarians are very helpful. The school has a very large student body, so think twice if your teenager is shy or reserved. If he/she is not involved in sports, drama, etc., he/she will fade into the background.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 17, 2005

Truman is as good a school as can be expected. The sports aren't the best, but they try. The academics, while they could use improvement in gifted education, are acceptable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2005

I think that this school is not very good in anything including sports especially volleyball and track!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

I belive that this school is not very good in the following areas: there sports academic volleyball and track.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
78%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students95%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students79%
Black57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Free or reduced-price lunch67%
Students with disabilities37%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students54%
Black27%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students58%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 75%
Black 10% 17%
Hispanic 9% 5%
Asian 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3301 South Noland Rd
Independence, MO 64055
Phone: (816) 521-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northwood School
Kansas City, MO


Family Christian Academy
Independence, MO



Nova Center
Independence, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT