Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Chrisman High School

Public | 9-12 | 1527 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2014

The staff is cold towards outsiders. In the 10 or so times I've subbed here, I've never felt at home. In all the hundreds of classrooms I've worked in, I've only encountered two that left me completely without sub plans. Both were at Chrisman.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2013

i don't like the school they don't help with iep's and don't like to talk to parents and my friends probation officer
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2010

when i was living in independence i went to this school it was the best school that i had for a long time
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

I just that the school is a very good school with a good education inlife.So the teachers can teach the students to learn if they want to go to college after they graduate from william chrisman high school. then they can learn from professors in college and graduate from their high standards in life and the future when they get married and have kids of their own and get wonderful jobs that they can be professional at.And that is why i am proud of the students and teachers and the staff too. Because they are going to learn about everything in life. I think that william chrisman is a wonderful school for parents and students and teachers too. Which i think that we should recommend william chrisman to all new people that are living in independence missouri for the first time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

William Chrisman is a great school. However, I think it really could do better. The school is strong academically, which is good, but doesn't offer classes that might be at other schools. Also, when comparing scores with other schools, Chrisman might be the same or lower. The athletic teams are also very so so. Chrisman is often in the middle, or the bottom of the pack against other schools. Obviously there is room for improvement there. Chrisman is a good school, but still has much room for imrpovement to make it a great school.


Posted July 7, 2007

I am really disappointed in Chrisman's counseling staff. I have repeatedly asked to be updated on my daughter's progress and to be put on mailing lists for school information, newsletters, etc. It was never done. I have never received one mailing from Chrisman. I am not happy with the lack of response by my daughter's counselor. She had gone several times to the office to request an appointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

Chrisman is Great and wonderful school were i attend as a returning sophomore. I love it dearly; the teachers are caring and everything is always taken care of. My personal opinion is that it is the district that makes things go wrong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2004

this school is the best school i ever went to. the teachers are friendly unlike the ones at truman. we have a great sport department. the only thing i can say is this is a wonderful shool to go to!! i am a student at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

I love the fact that one of my children attend William Chrisman right now and that all my children at one time will attend and graduate from there. There are teachers there like Mr. Ken Johnston and other fabulous facilty that really cares for our children. Not just as teachers but as mentors and friends as well. I will do all I can do to support this wonderful High School and am proud to call myself a parent of a Chrisman Bear
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Until recently I felt that this was absolutely the best high school in our district and that our district was one of the best in our state. This opinion changed with the hiring of a new superintendent. WCHS lost a wonderful and beloved principal and many quality teachers. We also now have a 'dictatorship' mentality with teachers, staff, parents, and most importantly students, afraid to state their opinion for fear of retaliation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
58%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
48%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students29%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
White31%
Free or reduced-price lunch24%
Students with disabilities10%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students80%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Free or reduced-price lunch73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students72%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch68%
Students with disabilities41%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students46%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilities7%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students59%
Black38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students57%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilities19%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 75%
Black 11% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1223 North Noland Rd
Independence, MO 64050
Phone: (816) 521-5355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Independence Academy
Independence, MO



Family Christian Academy
Independence, MO



Van Horn High School
Independence, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT