Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Southern Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2014

I was under the impression at first that it was a good school but as time rolled on they stopped my daughters special services because they felt she was not eligible when I know she is. My daughter has also had run ins with bullys .and comes home tense and very upset. Your child will benefit better if u have a car to take them back and forth at least they don't have to be terrorized by bullies on the bus. Background check takes forever for them to complete so u can attend field trips. I am disappointed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

I absolutely adore this school. I was very hesitant because of some of the reviews and even a few things I've heard from family and friends but I have been more than proved wrong. We are currently having some behavioral issues and trying to work on a solution and every last staff member has been on board with helping. They have been helpful and patient, I couldn't be happier with how they're handling it. I don't feel like the horrible parent, I feel like I have a child that's trying to adjust and a staff that just wants the best for him, even when they have so many other students to work with. They let me, my husband, my father-in-law and my mother-in-law be as involved as we like to and even encourage anyone and everyone to be involved. The new principal seems fantastic to me. From what I've heard, this school has come a long way since she has been here and I'm sure that's no easy task. I have not found one thing I dislike or would change. I feel like they take pride in their school and their students and we're looking forward to another 5 great years with William Southern!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

I have two children in this school and love it. The staff is wonderful. All the staff is very nice and helpful. I try to be very involved in my childrens school and they let me do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

This school's leadership has no integrity or class. This has to be hands down the worst school in the district. My daughter who has always loved school suddenly started not wanting to go anymore. The reason was because she got a teacher from mars (the teacher makes a lot of mistakes grading papers, gives wrong AR reading scores, transposes numbers, gives wrong information, and the list goes on and on) this year and a new principal who cares more about her image than helping teachers and students be their best. My words of advice is DO NOT buy a home in this community, do not rent, do not even think about putting your intelligent child in such a worthless school. Do what a lot of other parents wish they'd done a lot sooner, one word, RUN!!!! FAST!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

This school has a principal that is very vendictive. She holds grudges against children and their parents if they bring up a concern about a teacher or happening in the school, she goes into complete cover-up mode, she fakes smiles, swings her over processed hair, and all while being dishonest to parents about what is going on in the school with our kids. She has no clue what she is doing, has no people skills, and is in great need of training. This school is a complete joke! I'm so glad I removed my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

WOW if it wasn't for this school and his teacher my child would not have developed the way he did. Thank you William Southern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

My daughter has had some behavioral issues and this school (the principal and ALL the teachers) have been great help. I couldn't have helped my daughter as much as I have without their great help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

We have one son who graduated from Wm Southern and two that are through Wm Southern right now and we could not be any happier than we are with how the kids are treated, taught and nurtured. My kids have loved their teachers and their entire schooling experience at Wm. Southern. They are involved in many school activities (Student Council, Sports, Plays, etc).... and they take great pride in their school and enjoy...yes enjoy going to school. That says more to me than the reviews of a few disgruntalled parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

I have several children attending W.S. and find that it is the worst school my kids have attended yet. Recently, bought a house in the district and in my opinion the Kansas City elementary schools are run better than this place. I have looked into private schools and home schooling my children as a better opportunity. Academics are deficient on every level and the student to teacher ratio in most classes is 30 to 1. Generally everyone is friendly but that doesn't make the grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

the staff treats the kids like their own. The parents are encouraged to build the education process with the staff and help with all the party and events the kids enjoy the school and other students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

The administrator at this school does not want parents in the building for any reason. It makes you wonder what they have to hide. In the recent past, this was an award-winning school. Since the arrival this administration, those high quality teachers have been driven away. The school administration makes it apparant that their priorities are: 1. Appearances (Since when is silence throughout the school a sign of a good elementary practices?) 2. Submission to authority (Both parents and teachers are targeted if they question administrative policies. If you speak out, you risk having your child targeted and mistreated by both the teachers and administrators.) 3. Test scores. Think twice before placing your child at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

this school is a literal joke. they don't appreciate the great things they have and let the good people they have leave. the administration is suffers from great favortism and the true gems of this school are no longer there. the administration is worried about looks and material possessions and is so far out of touch with the reality of what our children face, it is a definite disservice to each child in the building. if you want the best for your child, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I would not recommend this school to anyone that has a child with any kind of problems, either learning or behaviorial. They do have a few exceptional teachers at this school, but its' not worth it to take the chance on getting one. My child's disabilities have gone unacknowledged at this school and they haven't done much of anything to help him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

I thought that this school was very concerned with the outward appearance of a nuclear family. My fiance died in 2007 when my daughter entered kindergarten and she had a very rough time adjusting. We asked the principal for her recommendations and she offered none. Not until my daughter started to be 'defiant' as she called it did they suggest counseling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

I think that this school is wonderful for helping my child learn to speak well. Everyone has always been so cooperative and it seems to easy to handle any problem that arises.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students24%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White31%
Free or reduced-price lunch13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 74%
Black 27% 17%
Hispanic 12% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Barbara Allinder
Fax number
  • (816) 521-5646

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 South Phelps Rd
Independence, MO 64055
Phone: (816) 521-5475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Schoolhouse
Independence, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT