Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
650 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Helias High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
The tradition being rooted in the Catholic faith allows this since religion is mandatory and follows biblical teachings.

Helias High School 5

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Helias has been both challenging and rewarding for my children. It challenges in the area of academics and rewarding in having not only competitive sports team but also excellent fine art activities. The student of today needs to develop both sides of the brain if they will be successful in their future. I believe Helias provides that for my children that is why we chose Helias!


Helias High School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
I have had 2 students graduate from Helias . The both did well in college and both graduated. That is what is important. The basis of their education to finish college was established at Helias. It cost me to send them to Helias, but well worth the investment. Almost 98% for students that go their go own to some sort of advance education with nearly 80% graduating. However, more important is they graduate good responsible adults.

Helias High School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a teacher
I care about my students. I hope I have influenced them to be successful, however they might define success. I still keep in touch with many of my former students and continue to celebrate their work as servants to the Kingdom, as parents, and as future contributors to their community.

Helias High School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a student
I attended Helias High School for 1 semester of freshman year, but then I moved to Kansas and I now currently go to public school. There is a huge difference in the way they provide education. The grading scale is a lot more advanced and there's a good amount of homework every night, but if you study and pay attention it's not bad. Whenever I got to public school, it was such a breeze! I already knew half the stuff they taught me and getting good grades wasn't difficult at all. Despite getting a great deal of homework every night, (which actually isn't a bad thing if you're looking for an outstanding education) Helias is definitely a great school. It not only has high expectations for education, but as well as basic morals and values. Helias regularly has assemblies from insperational people who tell us about their stories and experiences. I have definitely found myself having a closer relationship with God. Even if you aren't catholic and you're just looking for a great school to put your child in for a better education, Helias is a good option. I definitely miss being a Sader. I have made so many great friends and I would go back in a heartbeat if I could.


Helias High School 1

Posted March 05, 2012
- a community member
I attended Helias and I am very sorry I did. I had a few good teachers, but many member of the staff are not high quality teacher and have no business being educators. Over all the school is over hyped and I feel I could have received a much better education at a different institution.

Helias High School 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a student
As a graduate, I cannot imagine going to a greater high school. Helias provides great opportunities, a caring and supportive staff, friendly and loving atmosphere from students, and tremendous school pride. Every day I am thankfull I went to Helias High School.

Helias High School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a student
I attended a school out of the area until last year....Helias is 100% better. The teachers expect more from you but they also are willing to work with each student on a one on one basis as well as classroom setting. They have really great coaches that let anyone try a sport even if it is new to them. I feel proud to be a Crusader!


Helias High School 5

Posted June 23, 2009
- a student
Helias is a great high school! It has an amazing dedicated staff that brings the best out of its academic program. The student atmosphere is another thing that gets to me. Once you become a part of Helias you get to build strong friendships that last. The Christian values of Helias are also outstanding. Many opprotunities become available for stundents to practice their faith openly and freely. Not only does Helias offer a tremendous athletic program, but being a member myself I can say that its music department is also truly amazing...and growing!

Helias High School 5

Posted June 21, 2009
- a student
i loved helias. i just graduated last year, and i cannot imagine having a better high school experiance. that's the thing about helias, its an experience. yes, academics are important, but at helias, i learned about more than just the civil war, or momentum. i learned how to be a better person. i learned how to appreciate the people around me, how to look at life through other's eyes, and most importantly to me, i learned that there was always more out there than helias high school. the mission trips i went on, changed the way i view life, we saw how bad things could get, and we got to help build people back up. helias instilled in me a lifetime of service, and for that, i am so grateful. helias taught me so much, and i would recommend any parent to send their child there. you can't beat it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Helias High School
1305 Swifts Highway, Jefferson City, MO  65109
(573) 635-6139
Last modified Helias High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Helias High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top