Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northview Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 404 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

Is increasing in size and opportunity. I believe we should be at least 6 out of 10 because of the chance for students to go to Des Lee music and art events like: The St. Louis Art music, the Sheldon Concert hall, Jazz St. Louis. every students can not transfer to St. Charles to solve the problems caused by NO Child Left Behind
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 11, 2010

I was a student at Northview and now my son is. He is now in the first grade and is progressing each day. Because his confidence was low in reading his teacher took out the time to tutor him in the areas he was lacking in. In my opinion if both parent and teacher work with the child he/she will be sufficient in their academics. Remember that it starts at home and open communication is the key to a successful child!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I would have to say that I have nothing but good things to say about Norhview Elem. My child has attended this Jennings School District since kindergarten and is now in second grade. We moved over a hundred miles away so that I can continue school. Northview has prepared my daughter so that she has the confidence to suceed in her current school. Northview use to give my daughter a thick homework packet and extra help during afterschool. Her current school does not give her as much homework so I give her work to supplement what she is taught in the classroom. She is now one of top students of her classroom because of the study habits and skills Northview has taught her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

In regards to the posting from May 2006, I'm not sure what would be considered 'petty' in a school. Art, music, and physical education are by no means petty, but does that mean that reading, writing, math, science, social studies, and technology are? I have never seen more hard-working students or teachers in classrooms than I have at Northview. There is nothing 'petty' about the learning that is going on within that building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Leaving the private school setting and going to the public school system was scary enough for the both of us. This school does not challenge your children for excellence. So, I have to do what a great parent does, (Pushing him). Northview concentrates way too much on petty things and not enough on more important things like diversity in art, music, and not settling for just ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

I also have had nothing but positive experiences with Northview Elementary. Every teacher that my child has had has been caring and concerned about my child. Also, Northview was very lucky to be air-conditioned this past year, as many schools all over the country still do not have this luxury. When my child first entered school, he was targeted by a bully. The 'Zero Tolerance' policy helps to keep children safe. If a parent is concerned about how his/her child is treated when there is a 'behavior issue,' perhaps the parent should spend some time in the classroom or possibly take a look in the mirror at his/her own parenting or lack of parenting instead of zeroing in on teachers. As I see it, many of the 'behavior issues' I have seen at Northview often involve a lack of respect which is a direct result of a lack of parenting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

'I am also new to the Jennings School District. The exception is that I have had nothing but great experiences! It seems odd to me that the second comment was written in October of 2004 and the majority of the complaint revolved around air conditioning. I happen to know for a fact that Northview Elementary was air conditioned for the entire 2004-2005 school year. On top of that this past summer was a mild one! When making a complaint make sure it is a valid and honest complaint. Thank you.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

This school fails to meet multiple needs of disadvantaged youth. My child went to this school for his first year of kindergarten and I was appauled at the entire board on their handling of a child wiht behavioral issues. They offer no realistic alternatives that would gear children back toward the classroom. They also lack responsibility in how their staff and administrative conduct can contribute to a childs disruptive behavior in the classroom and offered no investigation into the matter. They leave the child and the parent to take much of the responsobility and blame. Their view of the 'No Tolerance' guidelines leave the child with no support and no outlet for solving the issue at hand. Which altimately, leaves the parent and child struggling to succeed in this school environment. They wouldn't even offer my child a school tutor so that he would not stay behind in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

Being new to the Jennings school district I was excited. However I was dissappointed with the lack of concern towards bullying, and airconditioning for the classrooms. My child sat in a classroom that was so hot(100 degrees) that when he came home his shirt was dench with sweat. I went directly to the school board,and basically he told me it is nothing he could to do. So suggested that he leave out his air-conditioned office and join my child's class in the smeltering heat. I recieved no reply. Also this school neglects the zero tolerance policy al together. To me jennings school district will have a decrease in high school graduates and an increase in criminal activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
20%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students23%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students33%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students18%
Black18%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students27%
Black27%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 17%
White 1% 74%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Chanua Ross
Fax number
  • (314) 653-8055

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8920 Cozens
Jennings, MO 63136
Phone: (314) 653-8050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sacred Heart School
St. Mary, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT