Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joplin High School

Public | 9-12 | 2069 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2013

The administration has maintained a status of "accredited with distinction" for the past ten years or so now. The new campus plan will bring the facilities up to the status of the education. All kids are using Apple laptops in the classroom and all books are virtualized. The children learning in Joplin High School will be well prepared for life in the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

im currently at jhs and i cant explain in words how much i love it, they offer so much more then smaller schools do and theyre doing there best to keep it together but there is a huge ratio of students to teachers, almost every class is full and that is with the grades split in the 9-10 and the 11-12 but the teachers are amazing i couldnt ask for better ones!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2010

I would not encourage parents to consider sending their children to Joplin High School. The student to teacher ratio is insane. They do have rules just as any other school district, but the lack of enforcing those rules has students doing pretty much as they please. I have seen girls in the school wearing "shorts" that more resemble underwear, and never got in any kind of trouble for it. The attire students are allowed to wear to school is completely unacceptable. That is not preparing our children for life. In no decient work setting would someone be allowed to wear such indecient colthing. Students do not have any sort of structure or dicipline. Another thing is that when your child goes in to highschool from jr. high they are only going to be familiar with about 1/4 of the incoming freshmen because the district is so big.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

i am currently a student at JHS. it is good and bad. i cant emphasize on the good and i cant exactly emphasize on the bad either. as others have said it helps prepare for the future but with a school with that many students there is bound to have issues.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2009

I am a new student of Joplin High School, and this school does not compare to other schools i have been to. The teachers have no reign over the classrooms. The teachers and staff need to be more aware of what is going on around them. I cannot believe how some of these reviews say Joplin is a great school, because in my opinion it is not. I would not reccomend Joplin schools to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

What I loved about Joplin schools is that if you are a college bound student you have the ability to take college style courses that alot of schools don't offer. Joplin schools also seem to continue to get better as the years go by. I am just very happy with the school here, so thankful that even with the size teachers & principles are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

I went to JHS for all four years of my high school career and found it to be a great school. I believe that the principals and staff do everything in their ability to keep JHS a safe and comfortable learning environment. You must understand that with over 2,000 students the school is, and must be, an organized chaos during passing times. The current posts are very old and outdated. Another reason why JHS is such an amazing school is that unlike the standard American high school with rival cliques and bronze versus brains, JHS seems to be a melting pot of people that, for the most part get along! Overall, I found my stay at JHS as a stepping stone for life. It definitely prepared me for my future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

One can go through JHS in so many ways. There are some fabulous teachers (such as spanish with Hagedorn, chemistry with Parker, AP Lit. and Comp. with MacQueeney). There are many chances for a great education, but Joplin is a school where you have to make your own way, because no one inside the school will give you the motivation to go after this type of success. I took many AP classes and worked extremely hard with the aforementioned teachers and am now attending a great northeastern university. Also, there are many extracurricular choices, but you have to get involved! I did track, tennis, and many others, and they were some of my best experiences at the school. Everyone will receive the same diploma upon graduation, but this school is primarily what you make of it and what you personally glean from it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 17, 2005

We aren't particularly impressed with Joplin High, we were told when we moved here that 'Joplin schools herd the students through like cattle' and to some extent that is a true statement. There are some dedicated teachers but there are some safety concerns and we feel the staff needs to be more aware of some of the happenings in the school. We are aware of some happenings regarding student harrassment and would agree with the other review that the principal & staff need to be more diligent in dealing with such issues.......I also feel more emphasis needs to be placed on 'book learning', these students need to be prepared for college & life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

I am impressed with many of the extracurricular activities. My child is a 4.0 student and is involved with sports and music and theatre. What is discouraging is that there is no attempt to discourage students from harrassing other students. I can afford to send my child to private school, but my child likes Joplin High. I know the legal system and the first time I feel that other student has steppped over the line, I will respond. This type of behavior interferes with education and teachers and coaches need to be more aware. I am not surprised at the drop out rate and student apathy. Have we not learned anything from some of the incidents at schools in recent years?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

Excellent classroom experience for my children but very little interest in their welfare from the principals. Students too easily fall through the cracks at the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

Joplin High School has changed so much since I attended there in the 70's. I have had one daughter graduate from there and another who is a senior there now. The school is great. The counselors need a little more training. The school needs to quit capitalizing on sports and concentrate on book learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

We have had 2 children graduate from JHS, and have 2 more working on it. Our sons both graduated in the top of their classes, and most likely, our daughters will, too. Teachers, councilors, and administration worked well with our family to make sure that our children have the best possible classes to prepare them for college. We would highly recommend Joplin Schools to anyone who is moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Joplin High is a good school and prepares its students for college. Advanced placement classes and opportunities for hard-working students were tremendous. I attended a Tier I college in the Northeast on a full scholarship and in fact, several of my college textbooks were the same ones I used in high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2004

I am very disappointed in this school and administration. Phone calls & emails to teachers & the principals are not returned, attendance is more important than the health/well being of children and teacher dedication is very low in comparioson to Texas schools. We will be leaving this district after this school year and will never return to Joplin schools and will never recommend them to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

513 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
40%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

580 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
60%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

485 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

505 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

417 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

404 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students27%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracial36%
American Indian7%
White29%
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilities4%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students52%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students58%
Black35%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian59%
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students50%
Black27%
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial47%
American Indiann/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities18%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students63%
Black47%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian50%
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilities26%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander40%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students64%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunch55%
Students with disabilities26%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students57%
Black46%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities23%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 74%
Hispanic 6% 5%
Black 4% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2104 Indiana
Joplin, MO 64802
Phone: (417) 625-5230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Gateway School
Joplin, MO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT