Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Joplin, MO
Students enrolled: 2,069
 

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joplin High School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
The administration has maintained a status of "accredited with distinction" for the past ten years or so now. The new campus plan will bring the facilities up to the status of the education. All kids are using Apple laptops in the classroom and all books are virtualized. The children learning in Joplin High School will be well prepared for life in the real world.

Joplin High School 4

Posted September 30, 2012
- a student
im currently at jhs and i cant explain in words how much i love it, they offer so much more then smaller schools do and theyre doing there best to keep it together but there is a huge ratio of students to teachers, almost every class is full and that is with the grades split in the 9-10 and the 11-12 but the teachers are amazing i couldnt ask for better ones!


Joplin High School 1

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
I would not encourage parents to consider sending their children to Joplin High School. The student to teacher ratio is insane. They do have rules just as any other school district, but the lack of enforcing those rules has students doing pretty much as they please. I have seen girls in the school wearing "shorts" that more resemble underwear, and never got in any kind of trouble for it. The attire students are allowed to wear to school is completely unacceptable. That is not preparing our children for life. In no decient work setting would someone be allowed to wear such indecient colthing. Students do not have any sort of structure or dicipline. Another thing is that when your child goes in to highschool from jr. high they are only going to be familiar with about 1/4 of the incoming freshmen because the district is so big.

Joplin High School 4

Posted June 30, 2009
- a student
i am currently a student at JHS. it is good and bad. i cant emphasize on the good and i cant exactly emphasize on the bad either. as others have said it helps prepare for the future but with a school with that many students there is bound to have issues.

Joplin High School 1

Posted February 16, 2009
- a student
I am a new student of Joplin High School, and this school does not compare to other schools i have been to. The teachers have no reign over the classrooms. The teachers and staff need to be more aware of what is going on around them. I cannot believe how some of these reviews say Joplin is a great school, because in my opinion it is not. I would not reccomend Joplin schools to anyone.


Joplin High School 1

Posted November 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Joplin High School 5

Posted October 13, 2008
- a parent
What I loved about Joplin schools is that if you are a college bound student you have the ability to take college style courses that alot of schools don't offer. Joplin schools also seem to continue to get better as the years go by. I am just very happy with the school here, so thankful that even with the size teachers & principles are involved.

Joplin High School 5

Posted July 01, 2008
- a student
I went to JHS for all four years of my high school career and found it to be a great school. I believe that the principals and staff do everything in their ability to keep JHS a safe and comfortable learning environment. You must understand that with over 2,000 students the school is, and must be, an organized chaos during passing times. The current posts are very old and outdated. Another reason why JHS is such an amazing school is that unlike the standard American high school with rival cliques and bronze versus brains, JHS seems to be a melting pot of people that, for the most part get along! Overall, I found my stay at JHS as a stepping stone for life. It definitely prepared me for my future.


Joplin High School 5

Posted December 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Joplin High School 5

Posted August 22, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joplin High School
2104 Indiana, Joplin, MO  64802
(417) 625-5230
Last modified Joplin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joplin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top