Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maple Park Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 772 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My family and I just moved here from park hill school district. My girls went to LakeView and other went to plaza middle school. Those are great schools and a really good district. Since we have moved here I have had problems with teachers and the bus drivers! I already don't like this school or district! I don't think the staff and teachers really care about the kids education or how these kids act and talk. It's like my kids are going to schools in the hood or something. Maple Park Middle School is a really bad school and I can't wait till they change schools when they get in higher grades. North Kansas City school district has gone Way a Down Hill since I was in school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

Maple park middle school is the average school, it has swearing and "mean" language that all public schools have; most of the teachers are nice (at least to my class) but if you are a good student with an A/B average it'll be a dream you'll get through it no sweat. So in conclusion if you are a bad kid you'll fit in if your a good kid enjoy the easy work and let the teachers make you the "special kid"!


Posted December 30, 2013

I've been here for two years now and the teachers can be a bit harsh also sometimes unfair. The principal we have now is a good one then we had before but I feel like he sends every problem to the assistant principal. Almost every problem is delt with ISS or OSS.


Posted January 7, 2013

I graduated from Maple Park Middle School in 2012. I really like this middle school a lot and they prepared me for high school really well. The school does have some troublemakers, but all the middle school's in the district have the same problem. It's easy to avoid the troublemakers by taking honors classes. Maple Park Middle School also offers high school credit classes in Algebra 1, Geometry, French 1 and Spanish 1 which helps prepare the students for high school even more. The principal I had was new when I started 6th grade and was very nice. The teachers and staff are wonderful, helpful, and really care about the student's education. I have some great memories here and miss this school very much. Their mascot is the vikings. Their school colors are black and gold.


Posted June 26, 2012

ive been bullied at this school for two years and we moved to antioch for my 8th grade year and maple park didnt do anything about it


Posted March 28, 2009

My great grandson attends this school and if he needs help with some thing.She sees that he gets it.She will ether have him stay after school and she will e - mail his mother. He is getting A's and B's,it works out very well.


Posted February 3, 2009

I am a student and i think this school does a great job of making sure every student feels welcome and safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2008

My last review was written quite a while ago, and the school has not been so good. The principal is unfair. My team gets treated like the bad team. Privileges are taken away unfairly. The 8th grade dance? Nope. It's being held by parents, and the school has nothing to do with it. It's so dumb! I'm ready for high school. The volleyball team's uniforms are old, and theyre like basketball jerseys! The basketball team got new jerseys, but not volleyball.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

Excellent School!!! The teaching staff is absolutely amazing! They really care about the students and their safety. If my children could go there for high school as well it would be perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

This school has excellent leadership. They set each child up to succeed and with a bit of commitment from everyone - they do succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

this school needs to learn the differance between what the students know and what they should know. They should also learn to help the students who have trouble learning understand what they are doing instead of just giving foul grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2006

I am now a Junior at Clinton Senior High School in Clinton, MO and I went to Maple Park during my 6th and 7th grade. The principal that we had then was horrible becuase everytime someone got in trouble he always sent us to the assistant. There was a program called Homework Help that was okay. I always went to FNL with my boyfriend but never ended up staying because we were not even allowed to hold hands without getting in trouble. My 7th grade Language Arts teacher was real rude with me but when I told her no about something she had a fit and sent me to the principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2005

I am a seventh grade student at Maple Park Middle School! In sixth grade on my first day, of course I was a little nervous. But then after a few days of getting used to it, it was so fun and exciting! The entire staff there is so helpful and considerate. The students are very respectful. If not the teachers get right to it. The programs at Maple Park are great. They have cheerleading, cross country, volleyball, if you want to help with the year book you can, there is band and orchestra. And my favorite . . . Friday Night Live! FNL is an after school program usually from 7-9 pm. There are three a year. Each of them have a theme. There is dancing, music, snacks, games, sometimes movies, etc. FNL is great for hanging out with your friends. Go Maple Park Vikings! -Lyndsey Soetaert
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2005

I think that Maple Park is a very good school! They really help you be prepared for middle school, and understand that you may be nervous. I am going to be a sixth grader this year, and right now I am in Camp Viking. They totally prepare us! We learn our locker combination, our schedule, and everything! I think that they have it well organized. And I think they have more to offer than elementary school. You can ALWAYS talk to a counselor, and the counselors understand all of your problems. And they have peer helpers, which can help you with social and acadmeic problems. They are seventh and eighth graders, and have been here for a few years, so they totally understand! I think that it is best to come to a school where they understand you, and realllly help you to be prepared!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2005

This school does not keep parents involved in their child academic preformance. It does not have the resorces for children who need help. They rather pass the child to the next grade than help the child pass the year. They punish children for failure in academic by putting them in ISS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students42%
Black32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
White49%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilities12%
Limited English proficient students13%

Math

All Students42%
Black30%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities17%
Limited English proficient students16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students48%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students44%
Black38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
White47%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Black26%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
White49%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students25%
Blackn/a
Hispanic26%
White25%
Free or reduced-price lunch21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students38%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 74%
Black 16% 17%
Hispanic 13% 5%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kevin Kooi
Fax number
  • (816) 413-5705

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5300 North Bennington
Kansas City, MO 64119
Phone: (816) 413-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Faith Academy
Kansas City, MO


St Gabriel School
Kansas City, MO


Eastgate Middle School
Kansas City, MO



Northgate Middle School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT