Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Mark Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1015 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2014

The principals and assistant principals at this school are worse than the kids when it comes to gossiping, bullying, and harassing the students. They have no respect for parents or the students. They yelled at my child in front of the school and when I met with them, they raised their voices to me. They claim to foster a positive environment, but all they foster is gossip. There are some great teachers, but some of them fail to "teach" the students, they simply hand out worksheets and tell the students to figure it out. I've had several instances when other parents have told me the principals/assistant principals were talking about what a bad influence my child is, yet I NEVER personally received any calls. Violation of privacy, false accusations, defamation of character, lack of responsibility!! I've had 3 children go through this school, and all 3 of them hated it. I can't wait for my youngest child to get out of this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

The teachers, in general, are helpful and friendly. However, if you have a problem, good luck getting it addressed. The 6th grade principal, Ms. Skinner, in particular is quite the arrogant, self-satisfied individual. She has spoken down to me on more than 1 occasion and I really did not like how she handled a disciplinary situation we had with our student. Instead of joining together as a team to solve the problem she just wanted our buy-in to her way and when we pushed back she got mad. Not quality administration in any way. If not for her, we would really have no issues with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

This is an amazing school, I really dont know why anyone would not go here. The teachers know what they are doing and push students to do good in school. Teachers DO show respect, and its greatly appreciated, although a student might be disrespectful they always handle it in the best way possible. But if you do get in trouble, you will not get away with it and you will be punished, but thats what needds to happen. All of the hallways have security cameras and that makes it better just in case there is a hallway fight. This year there has only been a couple fights not that many which is pretty good. The school is always kept clean and we are working on a garden outside of the school, and its just a fun, inviting enviorment and is one of the best schools I seen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2010

If you have a choice to go to this school or not, don't. The teachers have no respect for students or parents and are not willing to take the time to make sure the students understand the material they're teaching. There is also a ton of pointless drama among the students that the teachers make no attempt to stop.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2010

New Mark is located in a great community. Programs are available to challenge kids and make them more prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

It's A Really Good School. I Learn Alot There
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2004

I love this school. My child has learned a great deal. The teachers care and they definately communicate how your child is doing. I'm the proud parent of a New Mark Principal Honor Roll Student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

New Mark provides a wonderful learning environment. The teachers and staff are friendly and helpful. I,m glad my kids had the opportunity to attend such a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

357 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

367 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

367 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Black32%
Asian/Pacific Islander42%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial65%
American Indiann/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities26%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students69%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial77%
American Indiann/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students72%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial75%
American Indiann/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunch63%
Students with disabilities28%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students74%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial72%
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch62%
Students with disabilities33%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students63%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial67%
American Indiann/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students58%
Black28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students76%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial83%
American Indiann/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunch62%
Students with disabilities33%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students98%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White98%
Free or reduced-price lunch94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 74%
Hispanic 9% 5%
Black 7% 17%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 NE 106th St
Kansas City, MO 64155
Phone: (816) 413-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Barry School
Kansas City, MO


Maple Valley School
Kansas City, MO




Oakhill Day School
Gladstone, MO


Park Hill Day School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT