Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winnetonka High School

Public | 9-12 | 1346 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, October 19, 2014

Winnetonka High School is amazing. As a current student, I would say my experience was amazing. The only problems are times and teachers. If you need help in school the teachers (yes everyone) will tell you only to come in after school or intervention instead of answering that little question you might have. The problem with teachers as well is bullying. I have been getting bullied since the first day of school. ALL of the bulling has occurred in front of the teachers. Example people would bully me right in front of the teachers and all the teachers would do is look ay me-raise one eyebrow and do nothing. i highly think Winnetonka should work more on paying attention to the students and help them. Also the teachers all give out homework every single day. Some of us have busy schedules after school. They just don't care as long as you turn it in on time. Some teachers do not give the students freedom in their education. This high school suspends students for the most irrelevant reasons. I highly think this school should work on be a community of helping each other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2014

My school is the best in the district. Everyone is so chill and you can literally talk to anyone you want. We are not cliche and i never see signs of someone getting bullied. We work really hard daily and most students are involved in some type of club, organization, fine art,and or sport. i hate that people only look at test scores to determine whether or not a school is good because we're a a family and have a great teachers awesome students and a fun but rigorous learning environment,. i'm only a sophomore (class of 2017) but i can't see myself going anywhere. Once a Griffin always a Griffin.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2014

Currently my 2 children would attend Winnetonka. Instead I send them to North Kansas City High School. Partly because NKHS has the IB program and because I do not want my children to attend a high school that has a daycare in it for the student population. Funnily enough, I am a liberal but the thought of sending my kids to a school that caters to the pregant teenage population disturbs me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

Winnetonka is a great school! Lot's of nice people. North Kansas City School District is awesome/
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2012

I love going to tonka and it's not as bad as people say. By the way it's no zoo. Crime is a part of life and happens at almost every school. I love it here and nobody can change my mind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2012

This school is a complete mess!! My child was assaulted by another student last week and the vice principle yell in my face and refused to help me. I am not sending my child back to this trashy school. I hope that Oak Park or Staley can provide a safer and more professional environment. The students have total control over the teachers. There maybe 3 of 30 children focusing in class. What a waste of my tax dollars. Remove your children from this ZOO if you LOVE them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I graduated from Tonka in '01, back then it didn't have the bad rep it has now. My parents actually relocated so my brother wouldn't have to go there! It used to have 2 extremes - the rich and the poor kids. I always liked the teachers but the in-school student baby nursery did the rep in, especially when other schools starting sending all of the pregnant teens to Tonka. Good idea but didn't quite help the schools rep. This school now really needs a makeover and better athletics!!


Posted November 22, 2009

My two kids graduated in 2204 and 2008, scored in the 30s on the ACT, and were accepted into prestigious colleges. This is a great school that provides lots of opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I'm a senior at Tonka, and I really enjoy going there. There are many different groups and every one is accepted. The teachers care about their students' success and there are multiple opportunities for students to get help from not only their teacher, but from other teachers as well. The activities provided for students are broad and most can find something they enjoy. Plus, the performing arts groups are absolutely great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2008

I hate going to winnetonka high... M first week there i had my purse stolen! the students do not care about learning, and the teachers really dont care... Thew only thing i really like about this school is the food!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2007

At Tonka, you get a little bit of everything. Everyone basically gets along, and the school isn't 'ruled' by one group of people. The teachers are fun, and I always learn something new everyday. Our school is the cleanest in the district, also. The only bad thing about Tonka is the bad rep, but it's really not true. I never feel threatened when I go to school, in fact, I look forward to it. Overall it's a great place for learning and making friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2007

Really a great school. Excellent teachers. Great activities and student involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My Daughter is now a sophomore. The teachers, sports programs and arts are great. The football team stinks, but oh well the rest is more important. I am very happy my kid goes to Winnetonka.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Great school ...great teachers This school has incredible school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

This school is extremely wonderful I love the programs and the progress my child made after switching to tonka.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

Winnetonka is a great school and I love it there. Trust me, I was at Oak Park for two years and I liked it very much, but when we moved to Winnetonka's bounday, I thought I would hate it. I loved it. The teachers are way better and helpful, and the music programs are awesome. I highly recommend this as a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2007

I have two kids at Winnetonka, and let me say its a wonderful school. Don't listen to what anyone else says about it. Yes, there are the troublesome kids there (like every school) but the vast majority are intelligent and very cerative kids. They have an excellent band program and the teachers are quality teachers and very unique, not just the 'read and take notes' type. It's a clean and well kept school and I will remember to make sure my next kid goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

wonderful community and great teacher student interaction, the theatre program is phenomenal, along with music, not just sports at this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2004

Excellent school! Everyone is extremely helpful and concerned about the students. Students are very involved in school acitivites ... not just sports, but the fine arts (superb!) as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
50%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
59%
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
60%
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students37%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islander36%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial39%
American Indiann/a
White37%
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities5%
Limited English proficient students9%

Algebra II

All Students51%
Black48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracial30%
American Indiann/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students60%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial56%
American Indiann/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilities8%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students52%
Black35%
Asian/Pacific Islander20%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial61%
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities8%
Limited English proficient students9%

English II

All Students68%
Black49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracial64%
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch57%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students60%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracial58%
American Indiann/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilities27%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students52%
Black40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities17%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students46%
Black32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracial58%
American Indiann/a
White48%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 74%
Black 14% 17%
Hispanic 13% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matt Lindsey
Fax number
  • (816) 413-5505

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5815 NE 48th St
Kansas City, MO 64119
Phone: (816) 413-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Academy
Kansas City, MO





St. Pius X High School
Kansas City, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT