Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Winnetonka High School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Currently my 2 children would attend Winnetonka. Instead I send them to North Kansas City High School. Partly because NKHS has the IB program and because I do not want my children to attend a high school that has a daycare in it for the student population. Funnily enough, I am a liberal but the thought of sending my kids to a school that caters to the pregant teenage population disturbs me.

Winnetonka High School 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a student
Winnetonka is a great school! Lot's of nice people. North Kansas City School District is awesome/


Winnetonka High School 5

Posted November 13, 2012
- a student
I love going to tonka and it's not as bad as people say. By the way it's no zoo. Crime is a part of life and happens at almost every school. I love it here and nobody can change my mind.

Winnetonka High School 1

Posted February 04, 2012
- a parent
This school is a complete mess!! My child was assaulted by another student last week and the vice principle yell in my face and refused to help me. I am not sending my child back to this trashy school. I hope that Oak Park or Staley can provide a safer and more professional environment. The students have total control over the teachers. There maybe 3 of 30 children focusing in class. What a waste of my tax dollars. Remove your children from this ZOO if you LOVE them.

Winnetonka High School 3

Posted September 21, 2010
- a community member
I graduated from Tonka in '01, back then it didn't have the bad rep it has now. My parents actually relocated so my brother wouldn't have to go there! It used to have 2 extremes - the rich and the poor kids. I always liked the teachers but the in-school student baby nursery did the rep in, especially when other schools starting sending all of the pregnant teens to Tonka. Good idea but didn't quite help the schools rep. This school now really needs a makeover and better athletics!!


Winnetonka High School 5

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
My two kids graduated in 2204 and 2008, scored in the 30s on the ACT, and were accepted into prestigious colleges. This is a great school that provides lots of opportunities.

Winnetonka High School 4

Posted August 19, 2008
- a student
I'm a senior at Tonka, and I really enjoy going there. There are many different groups and every one is accepted. The teachers care about their students' success and there are multiple opportunities for students to get help from not only their teacher, but from other teachers as well. The activities provided for students are broad and most can find something they enjoy. Plus, the performing arts groups are absolutely great!

Winnetonka High School 1

Posted August 17, 2008
- a student
I hate going to winnetonka high... M first week there i had my purse stolen! the students do not care about learning, and the teachers really dont care... Thew only thing i really like about this school is the food!


Winnetonka High School 5

Posted November 25, 2007
- a student
At Tonka, you get a little bit of everything. Everyone basically gets along, and the school isn't 'ruled' by one group of people. The teachers are fun, and I always learn something new everyday. Our school is the cleanest in the district, also. The only bad thing about Tonka is the bad rep, but it's really not true. I never feel threatened when I go to school, in fact, I look forward to it. Overall it's a great place for learning and making friends.

Winnetonka High School 5

Posted November 23, 2007
- a parent
Really a great school. Excellent teachers. Great activities and student involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winnetonka High School
5815 NE 48th St, Kansas City, MO  64119
(816) 413-5500
Last modified Winnetonka High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Winnetonka High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews.