Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastwood Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 346 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2013

Visited the kindergarten classrooms today as a parent of a futre kindergartner, and wow, was I impressed. Kids were sight-reading, were well behaved, and most importantly they were learning. I think Eastwood is on th rebound and I look forward to being there to witness it's comeback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

Great teachers, always very friendly. My children love the school and I have not had a bad experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

I want to know about my classmate by the years 1957-1959 in Eastwood Hills School Kansa City


Posted June 10, 2012

I read Irma Moreno's review; I have no e-mail address for her, but she may check back at this site and I would like to tell her that I was in Miss Booth's 1957 class. I attended Eastwood Hills in years1955- 1959. You would have to admire the teachers in those years when the number of students averaged between thirty-six and forty-two in a class room.


Posted April 4, 2010

Great teachers and Principal. Mainly just lacks parental involvement but I have a Middle School student from Eastwood who is involved in the Duke TIP program so success is definately achievable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

I have had 3 children go to this school from K-5th grade and all loved it. I have always had a pleasant experience with all the teachers and the principal. I would not have sent my child to anoterh school if I had to do it all over again. All my kids love school and I think one of the big contributing factors to that is the great teachers that have showed that they care about them and are proud of them when they do a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

My daughter loves her school dearly. The teachers are wonderful. She comes at times and tell me she was bored at school. She tells me she wants to learn more things. Maybe one day Eastwood Hills will offer a gifted/advaced classes for students like my child. Other than that I am staying in the Raytown school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

I have dealt with public school districts all over the country and Eastwood Hills blows them all away by miles! They will bend over backwards for every child to make sure their specific needs are met. They have a great support staff consisting of two intervention couselors for differant age groups, a full-time licensed physcologist, a social worker, and a large Special Ed. staff that is by far the best and most numberous I have ever seen! It is a great School District and an absolutely wonderful school that my kids love going too! N. Miller
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I am writing because I am so pleased with how smooth registration went. I was givin a tour of the school and break down how everything works for my Kindergarden. I met the principle and a few other teachers. I am more excited about my daughter starting school than anything. We are moving from St. Louis, MO so finding a good school district is very important to me and my family. I was given so many good reviews about Raytown School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

This is one of the few schools in Raytown with a high minority student rate, however there is a lack of minority teachers as role models for these children. There is poor teacher involvement, but a high parent involvement. There seems to be a lack of accountability for the teachers and even the prinicipal. The curriculm does not challenge the children or keep them interested in their studies. I do not recommend this school as a first choice for a parent with school age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
14%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
12%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students29%
Black26%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students39%
Black32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students37%
Black40%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students35%
Black32%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students30%
Black31%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students33%
Black25%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students32%
Black20%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 60% 17%
White 22% 75%
Hispanic 12% 5%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Julie Whyte
Fax number
  • (816) 268-7215

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5290 Sycamore
Kansas City, MO 64129
Phone: (816) 268-7210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT