Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norfleet Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2013

This RAYTOWN school is full of caring and competent teachers. I am happy my kids go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

our school and i do mean our school is great. we moved here in 1979 and are still here. we have put 3 daughters through all to graduate, even our handicap daughter. if not for all the help we have had over the years here i don't know where we would all be today. our thanks goes to the superintendent, the best teachers you could ask for, parents help and lets not forget all of the staff from office to custodien nurse and all volenteers we needed them all so thanks again to all. we know have 5 grandkids going through here and i don't they would have stayed in raytown schools if that didn't think so also .we have had our oldest grangdaughter graduate last year and is now in collage. all have always gone above and beyond to make sure we get what we need.and let me say we have needed clean ups. nurse help, outside help for turtors, principal help and uhderstanding from all of them! keep up the great work you are doing we still have more coming through!!! l
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

My son go's to Norfleet he is in 3rd grade! They send home work home for every night of the week + weekends. They expect us to teach him after working all day. They should be the one's teaching him not us they get paid to teach! I don't ask them to go to my place of employment and work for me. I'm ok with some home work but not every day They need to let the kids BE kids. And whats NEW math 1+1=2 no matter how you add it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

Norfleet Elementary School has a great family-oriented community. The teachers are fair and positive. The students are well-behaved and the parents are very involved. My child has gone there for 2 years now and I am very pleased with the education she is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

There ARE parental involvement oppurtunities. Many. This year alone there were two gatherings for Dads and kids...not to mention all the others. I really like almost all the teachers, and my kids would never want to move from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

The principal and teachers are awesome, but the school is lacking in so many ways financially. One day I had lunch with my first grader and the main course was fried mozarella sticks and marinara sauce. The sides were brocolli, and apple juice. Another time, my husband had lunch up there and they ran out of chicken nuggets and she got hers 5 minutes before lunch was over. I would seriously reconsider before moving to this area and placing your kids in this school. They are in the process of major budget cuts ( which I dont see how that is possible since there is no budget to begin with) and they are talking about laying off 40 teachers before next year. We have yet to see a program, donuts with dads, or muffins with moms, etc. Not enough parental involvement opportunities!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

We moved to Missouri from out West, and our kids really like Norfleet. Raytown is a great place to live, and it's nestled between Kansas City & Independence. I'm happy our kids love their new home & school. The Summer school program is also great. I would recommend Norfleet to any Raytown resident & parent, to consider Norfleet Elementary as their school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

A wonderful school for your elementary age children! A lot of activities, great teachers, and a really nice environment for your student to learn in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 74%
Black 35% 17%
Hispanic 9% 5%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lori Kang
Fax number
  • (816) 268-7245

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6140 Norfleet Rd
Kansas City, MO 64133
Phone: (816) 268-7240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Northwood School
Kansas City, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT