Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
354 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Charles Borromeo School 2

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Although the education was good, girls were a bit cliquey and my child was bullied and isolated a bit, especially by 1 girl who got others to follow and make my daughter's experience horrible. With the exception of a few mothers from her class that were truly genuine and kind and wonderful, found the other moms to be cliquey, judgmental and unkind to me as well. Very unChrist-like. I've known a few other mothers at this school in other grades who are young, sweet, beautiful women who had the exact same experience here, being excluded by these other women and not treated kindly by them. (If you're a young pretty mom, God help you. Best of luck.) Moved our child to a Christian school and had a completely different experience. Very kind and welcoming parents, students, faculty, no judgmental or cliquey parents, and exceptional education. So glad we left. Right choice. Our child is so happy and so are we.

St Charles Borromeo School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Some of the teachers our child had were exceptional, like Mrs Jones and Mrs Arnold. Mrs Omecene was wonderful too. They made our experience here very good. A couple parents and mothers were very welcoming to us and our family. We are very grateful to them.


St Charles Borromeo School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
They certainly talk the talk, teaching Christlike values and biblical teaching. But only some of the kids and parents truly walked the walk. This was our experience. With the exception of some parents and students being very kind and wonderful people, we found the rest to be very excluding, cliquey and judgmental.

St Charles Borromeo School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Certainly better than public schools. However, the girls were cliquey in our child's class and so were the parents, especially the other mothers. That being said, there were a few moms and parents from her class who very kind and wonderful people. But our child dealt with girls bullying her and spreading rumors and making her feel isolated. I found the moms, with the exceptions of those few mentioned, to be very excluding towards me, cliquey and unkind. Quite immature considering these are adults. Felt the kids to be just like their parents. Some very kind and wonderful, like their parents. And many a bit arrogant and judgmental and unkind. We moved our child to a Christian school and had a totally different experience. Exceptionally kind parents, teachers, children, other mothers, very welcoming; so so glad we moved her. Could not be happier.

St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
Curriculum is the best we've found compared to other area Catholic schools. The test scores are phenomenal.


St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
Great school. Academic standards are high and the students' level of respect is high. Impressive curriculum too.

St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted July 27, 2012
- a parent
A great school, where the the teachers care about the students, the parents are involved and the curriculum is the best in the city.

St Charles Borromeo School 2

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I am not so sure about this school anymore. The administration seems unconcerned about the happenings in the school. Classes are way too big, and individual attention doesn't exist. People are leaving and I understand why.


St Charles Borromeo School 5

Posted December 01, 2007
- a parent
We love St. Charles. Their teachers, principal and staff are devoted and caring. Their accademics and standards are high and the community is wonderful!

St Charles Borromeo School
no rating

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
We choose St. Charles because of the high quality of education and the expectations of the students, in addition to the level of parent involvement. Our children started in St. Charles' preschool program, where we saw that they were not just educated but cared for and loved. This environment continues into the primary and middle school grades. As St. Charles graduates continue on to high school, the feedback the principal continually receives is how extremely well prepared St. Charles students are for high school challenges, and how they continue to excell in that environment. St. Charles also provides excellent extracurricular activities (band, extra science programs, and numerous athletic programs beginning in 3rd grade) and additional opportunities during the school day, such as Spanish and Algebra, to eligible students. We continue to feel very grateful and fortunate for the education (academically and morally) our children are receiving at St. Charles.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Charles Borromeo School
804 Northeast Shady Lane Drive, Kansas City, MO  64118
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (816) 436-1009
Last modified St Charles Borromeo School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top