Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Charles Borromeo School

Private | PK-8 | 454 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kansas City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2013

Curriculum is the best we've found compared to other area Catholic schools. The test scores are phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

Great school. Academic standards are high and the students' level of respect is high. Impressive curriculum too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

A great school, where the the teachers care about the students, the parents are involved and the curriculum is the best in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I am not so sure about this school anymore. The administration seems unconcerned about the happenings in the school. Classes are way too big, and individual attention doesn't exist. People are leaving and I understand why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

We love St. Charles. Their teachers, principal and staff are devoted and caring. Their accademics and standards are high and the community is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

We choose St. Charles because of the high quality of education and the expectations of the students, in addition to the level of parent involvement. Our children started in St. Charles' preschool program, where we saw that they were not just educated but cared for and loved. This environment continues into the primary and middle school grades. As St. Charles graduates continue on to high school, the feedback the principal continually receives is how extremely well prepared St. Charles students are for high school challenges, and how they continue to excell in that environment. St. Charles also provides excellent extracurricular activities (band, extra science programs, and numerous athletic programs beginning in 3rd grade) and additional opportunities during the school day, such as Spanish and Algebra, to eligible students. We continue to feel very grateful and fortunate for the education (academically and morally) our children are receiving at St. Charles.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 1% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

804 NE Shady Lane Dr
Kansas City, MO 64118
Phone: (816) 436-1009

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oakhill Day School
Gladstone, MO


Antioch Middle School
Gladstone, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT