Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ the King Parish School

Private | K-8 | 125 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kansas City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2010

I will admit that academically, CTK is one of the top schools in the area. The small classroom sizes are great for more one on one teaching. My main gripe with this school would be the money factor. When you sign the enrollment papers, it states that your enrollment fee ($300) includes textbooks, materials, etc. First I received the longest school supply list that my son has ever had in all the years he has been in school. FREQUENTLY I get notes to send this amount of money to help supply and fund certain classes and materials needed for those classes. EVERYTHING has a price!! EVERYTHING! In one week's time, I wrote almost $100 in checks that's ON TOP of the tuition that I pay monthly. In comparison, they have one of the cheapest tuition rates but they sure make up for it with their nickel and dime begging! God forbid they are $1 short for lunch, here comes the phone calls and emails. Sheesh, you can't tell me you can't loan a child $1?! Me and my check book are counting down the days to be done with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

This is the greatest school in the south land! It is a wonderful community and the most dedicated teachers. The principal is wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

The small class sizes are beneficial to meet the various educational needs of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

I am a parent of four wonderful girls. Two have been through CKS, one is there now, and one will be there soon. Two of my girls are attending a presigious high school in the area. They both are in multiple accelerated and honors classes. The first day of school, my oldest daughter told me 'Mom, I am so glad I went to CKS. I know so much more than the other girls at school.' I can credit that shining moment to CKS--a truly wonderful school. Their teachers are dedicated to teaching the children to the best of their ability--and they still send my kids cards on their birthday! I am up at CKS every weekend helping out; it truly is a home away from home. To any parent looking for a great school: choose CKS--you'll be glad you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

This school is the best part of the waldo community. Christ the King students achieve high test scores. The school is diverse, faith-based and has a strong close-knit community. Our principal and teachers are the best in the city!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

We love Christ the King. The principal is by far one of the greatest assets this school has to offer. The education is first class and the teachers are exceptional! Our children learn at two to three grade levels above the norm and have a top notch Catholic education. After you read this then decide for yourself. You and your family will know that you have finally come home. See you at school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

8 out of the 9 classroom teachers in this school are top notch educators. They care deeply for their students. The principal sometimes lets her goals and objectives get in the way of what is good for the child as a whole but she has made some outstanding changes. The classes are far too small often turning out a cookie cutter type of learner. Some parents are overly involved leaving little room for a quieter parent or a newcomer to express interest in projects with the children. These are the same parents that micro manage everything and get upset if things don't go their way. Some parents go as far as disciplining other children in front of their own parents at sporting or outside events. It is a good little school and offers a lot to a child. Lots of diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

We love our school! Please don't take our word though, stop by and tour. The principal is warm and sincere. She only has the children's intentions at heart. The teachers all deserve top awards. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We are kept up on all activites and school information through emails and newsletters. Small class sizes beat any school nearby. Community, family, friendship and fellowship. Education and Christian values rank number one! We encourage you to give us a try.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

Wow, we are new parents and never thought our child's school could feel like a second family. Our son is learning well above his grade level. We are counting money and taking field trips on city buses in kindergarten! That's right, CITY BUSES! My wife and I are truly amazed at what we have here at Christ the King. This is no ordinary elementary school. The computer lab is state of the art and the teachers are top notch. We couldn't imagine ourselves anywhere else but Christ the King.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

This school is amazing! We have had our children here for just over two year now and couldn't be more happy. Their education is by far upove average. Our kids are learning in small class sizes. We couldn't find that any where around this area! The teachers stand out above where we were before. The community is like family, very open and caring. There is many hours of involvement of our time and talent as a family and parents but it's worth it! Our children are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

Christ the King is a diverse school where the students rate at least two grades higher on tests. The children learn in a loving environment that is centered on Christian values.


Posted February 5, 2008

Christ the King is a good little school. The class sizes are small and the teachers are truly caring people. The community is active and close knit which is both a strength and a weakness. Although bullying is not tolerated among students it has recently been felt among parents. Unhappy parents aren't as committed to fundraising and volunteering. This ultimately affects the quality of the school and affects the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

Christ the King is a top notch school. First, the class sizes are small. That is a plus any way you look at it. At Christ the King, the Kindergarteners are reading, counting money and telling time! That type of learning doesn t happen in class sizes of twenty or more. There is very little bullying that goes on in a small setting. Kids are down-right mean to each other and especially in a large school where they can get away with it easier. At Christ the King, the teachers, principal and staff work hard with all the children to educate them on how to treat one another. They actually have a bullying program in place! I have met many of the other parents from the school through weekend/nightly functions. These people are salt of the earth . Great parents and smart kids are what you will find at Christ the King!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My children have been attending Christ the King for the last 6 years. The Principal, staff and parents at Christ the King are some of the most caring people I have ever met! It is all about the kids at this school, as it should be. My children are challenged acadmically and my daughter especially likes the sports program this year. This school definately has something for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

This was a great school with a tremendous community, but that no longer exists. Tremendous parental involvement has kept the school going far longer that it should. The school administration and parish staff would rather have disagreements over silly issues than focus on the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

This school has the potential to be what it once was. Unfortunately this school has recently gone through multiple teachers and principles that have made the school very far behind the other schools near-by. Students are no longer where they should be when they enter into high school and have a difficult time catching up. The strong bond that was once a corner stone of the Christ the King school/Parrish has given way to a feeling of mistrust and petty disagreements. That combined with a lack of leadership from the principle and Parrish priest have left this once great school crumbling at it's very foundation.


Posted August 16, 2007

Absolutely! This is home for us. Christ the King is the best elementary school in the southland. You can't beat the friends and family here. The best is by far the education that our children have received. Our high-schooler was more than prepared his first day of class. The teachers have been around for many years. This speaks highly of our institution. Contact another parent and find out what you or your child have been missing. This place is home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Christ the King exceeds most schools in excellence because of the small class sizes and wonderful close-knit community. This is truly home for our children. Teachers and parents alike love each child individually. They are exceptionally well cared for and loved. Our community is diverse in many aspects. The sports program is very competitive with other schools. Academically, it doesn't get any better. Feel free to contact the school and ask for standardized tests scores from the last several years. There is no comparison when it comes to Christ the King. Most of the students are scoring well above grade level across the board. Stop by and visit. Christ the King is what your children have been missing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2006

We came to CKS (as a non-catholic family) when our daughter was entering Kindergarten. She is now entering 7th grade and we could not imagine her going to any other school. Too bad CKS does not go up to 12th grade. It will be tough moving to a new school in 2 years, but we plan to still be very involved in CKS even after our daughter graduates because we have since joined the Catholic church. Class sizes at CKS are small and no child leaves CKS unrecognized. Our children love going to school because we as parents love staying involved with the school. We're all one big happy family. We truly love this WONDERFUL community. This is our home and it could be yours too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

Many years ago (and I mean many) I graduated from Christ the King. Jump 25 years later and I watched my oldest child graduate in 2006. We have a smaller community and we enjoy every aspect of our close community. Academically we rival and often exceed the standards of our counterparts. Our standardize test scores show our students ranking 2-21/2 years ahead of grade level. I really could not ask for more from a school...small, supportive, and academically thriving. We always strive for excellence, diversity, integrity, and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 77%
Black 19% 17%
Two or more races 12% N/A
Hispanic 11% 4%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 W 85th Street
Kansas City, MO 64114
Phone: (816) 363-1113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gillis Center School
Kansas City, MO


Boone Elementary School
Kansas City, MO



Whitefield Academy
Kansas City, MO



Calvary Lutheran School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT