Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Archbishop O' Hara High School

Private | 9-12 | 353 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kansas City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

Strong mathematics program thanks to Jim Monteil, Mary Haggerty, Brother Richard Geimer, Mac McGory, and Vicky Swanson. Competitive sports programs. Winner of Conference Academic Knowledge Bowl. Lasallian tradition. Devoted teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2011

Wonderful environment and dedicated faculty. Small enough to get to know nearly everyone. Catholic education. Inclusive sports program. Christian Brothers on staff since it opened in 1965. Most grads go on to college. Few windows since at the outset it had its own electric generators (now KC Power & Light).


Posted October 16, 2010

My husband graduated from O'Hara. My son graduated from O'Hara, and my daughter will graduate from O'Hara in 2013. The academic curriculum is one of the best through out the Kansas City area. The leadership through the teachers and staff is highly evident in all areas of learning. They make all students feel welcome and accepted in what a person my choose as the religion of choice. The parent involvement is very evident throughout the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

I have a daughter in this school and I am very happy with her grades . She will be ready for college after O'Hara , I would send any kid to this school , it is a very safe and loving place for them to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

This school has an awesome academic program for students. The students are a great bunch of kids. The teachers pour their heart and soul into this school. You couldn't pick a better school for you child to attned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Archbishop O'hara high school rates very good to excellent in all respects. The faculty is very student success oriented. While the Catholic faith is honestly represented, a non-Catholic student would be quite comfortable in this open and welcoming institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

An Archbisop O'Hara High School education has prepared our children for college and for life. The staff is highly qualified and caring with little turnover. Respect and compassion for all is the thread that is woven into a quality educational experience. They are what public schools should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

Archbishop O'Hara High School is an excellent school. There would be plenty of opportunity for parents to get involved if they wanted to. I would recommend this school to everyone and I give it an excellent rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

My husband and I believe that O'Hara High School provided an excellent college prep education for our son who graduated five years ago. He came to this school in his junior year, it was not 'easy' but he was provided with fully comprehensive education. Even to the point of taking a course in life skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

O'Hara is a great school -- the teachers are loving, caring, dedicated people -- and the principal is truly a Godly man. We have been very happy with O'Hara.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 74%
Black 23% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9001 James A Reed Road
Kansas City, MO 64138
Phone: (816) 763-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



This Christian School
Kansas City, MO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT