Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
795 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Therese School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
I feel that the teachers here are very effective in the lower grades and some in the upper grades. Just because a teacher has been here for 15+ years or longer, does not make them effective, in my opinion.

St Therese School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
For the most part, I feel homework was on a good level. However, the 8th grade math homework seemed to be extremely excessive. After many parent complaints, the homework levels decreased from around 2-3 hours per night to 1 hour or less.


St Therese School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
For the most part, kids are very srespectful. Sometimes, I feel like certain teachers can be disrespectful to students, but that is why parents are encouraged to speak with teachers if there is an issue. Some parents have gone directly to the teacher to question an incident which is beneficial.

St Therese School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
Yes, I feel that there are many opportunities for students to learn compassion and caring behavior from the variety of activities and fundraising for various causes. Unfortunately, the school used to take lunches away for even a 10 cent negative balance, but thankfully they wised up and got rid of this. I, along with many other parents, felt like this was a very unchristian thing to practice.

St Therese School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
The school has a demerit system that rewards students based on behavior. Sometimes it appears to not work out exactly as intended as some teachers enforce it more than others.


St Therese School 2

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
My opinion is that the elementary teachers are very encouraging and great teachers! You will find none better. Especially 2nd-5th grades and some (but not all) of the teachers in 7-8th. I feel that the negative side of this school is that administration seems to be blind to serious parent complaints (serious bullying) or other matters that warrant attention. It seems that their philosophy is "we are a good Catholic school, that surely can't be happening here!" Instead of dealing with the issues head on, administration seems to hide from the issues. Secondly, many, many families feel, myself included, that the math program suffers immensely. Once you hit 7th grade, forget it. You are at the mercy of someone who will confuse your kid to no end. Good luck. It appears that many families yank their kids out after 6th grade. The enrollment tends to go down after this sadly. Honestly, it wasn't always like this. But it seems to be the reality now.

St Therese School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
I attended St. Therese from 4th-8th grade, and I had a great experience. I took algebra in 8th grade, and I was ready for geometry and algebra II in high school, and I later took trig, math analysis, ap calc ab and ap calc bc. I felt prepared in every other subject as well, and I was even able to skip Spanish 1 and continue straight to Spanish 2.

St Therese School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
The last of my three children just graduated from 8th grade at St. Therese. My children now attend public high school. When they started high school, many students who came from public grade schools complained about the amount of homework expected in high school. In contrast, my kids were prepared for the rigor of high school thanks to the higher expectations at St. Therese. In fact, my kids were ahead in most subjects, particular science and language arts (lots and lots of reading and writing assigments at St. Therese).. Candidly, they needed to catch up in math, but they did have a good foundation in math such that my two oldest finished Trig by the end of sophomore year and are schedule for AP Calc by senior year. Aside from academics, St. Therese instills stong values in children. As an example of behavior expactations at the school, in the upper grades, the students are assigned a locker. There are no locks on the lockers. Yet, they have no problems with theft. In summary, it is a great school with very committed teachers and an administration who do a good job educating kids with a budget that is significantly lower than the public shcools.


St Therese School 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
We have been very happy with the staff and the values and education received at St. Therese. Our children have done very well in the public high schools, and they were very well prepared to take the advanced placement classes offered in that setting.

St Therese School 3

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
The families and children that attend this school are great. However, there is little to no help for students who don't "fit their idea" of what a child should be. If you have a child with special needs, forget about this place.

Nearby schools

St Therese School
7277 Highway 9, Kansas City, MO  64152
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (816) 741-5400
Last modified St Therese School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top