Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,089 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rockhurst High School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a community member
My brother, who went to Rockhurst and, ultimately earned a Doctorate of Medicine, told me that of all the schools he went to Rockhurst was the school that gave him the best education. Rockhurst taught him to think critically which has been of greatest benefit to him. The other institutions did not stress critical thinking but a preponderance of fact.

Rockhurst High School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a student
Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam. This is best school I could have ever made the choice of attending. I'm a stronger person, better man, loving, caring religious, open to growth, and more intelligent than ever before.


Rockhurst High School 5

Posted December 14, 2011
- a student
I would definitely describe Rockhurst as a great school. If you are willing to put forth the effort, you will do well there. I am currently a freshman, and I love the school. I have already made several friends in this great community.

Rockhurst High School 5

Posted August 31, 2010
- a student
The parent that posted below about Rockhurst being bad obviously has never been to the place. If they had been, they would know that there are no phones allowed at any time, especially not at mass, and the teachers make sure of it, and the rules at Rock are more strict than most other schools across the nation. The reason we can be around school until late is because we can be trusted and we don't start trouble. I have been a student at Rockhurst for three years, and there has not once been a fight there. So, to the parent below, spend one month at Rockhurst, and then try to say what you said below is true.

Rockhurst High School
no rating

Posted March 11, 2010
- a student
I'm a student-athlete at Rockhurst Highschool. To the parent who clearly has no idea what Rockhurst is about you are very wrong. I have seen ZERO fights my freshman year. And theft? if there is any theft Dean Alvey or a faculty member clear it up quickly. Rockhurst has already had a positive effect on me in only 2 semesters. My grades have improved, my athletic ability has skyrocketed thanks to all Coaches, and my confidence is through the roof. It would be an investment for the future of anyone's son to send him to Rockhurst. If you pay for your son to attend this school I can gaurentee you will have less to pay for college because this school will prepare your son to achieve a scholarship in any area. To the unknowledable parent I wish you hadn't jeopardized your son's future too badly.


Rockhurst High School 5

Posted December 09, 2008
- a student
I currently attend Rockhurst High School and it is, without question, the best descision my parents, and myself, have made throughout the course of my life. I started Rockhurst a weesley freshman with no course in life. I did not have many friends and ran for student government freshman year and lost badly to only one other candidate. In responce to the review posted by an obviously unhappy parent- You could not be more wrong about the spirit of the school itself. I will be the first to admit, there have been a few occasions of stealing in the past but they are always taken care of and I can almost assure you that the students who take part in such misconduct do not make it through senior year. I am now the vice president of the student body as a senior. The school is incredible if you can afford it.

Rockhurst High School
no rating

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
I didnt know what to expect when I sent my son from the public school system, to this religious based school. Let me tell you, my son is a lot more appreciative, challenged intellectually, emotionally, and his standards are higher as a young man, a soccer team member, student, in general as a human being. The brotherhood kinship that is preached is also lived. He expects better of himself and thought its been a change, it looks like this sacrifice will be worth more than my words can describe.He is teaching me how to be a better person, because of what he learns!!!!! I truly love him and want the best for him always. Rockhurst is the best!!!!!

Rockhurst High School 5

Posted October 21, 2008
- a parent
I have no idea where this parent got such an idea posted 09/19/08. Our 4th son is currently there and I have never known Rockhurst to be as it was described in the review, and we've been there since 1995. My sons and their friends, some football players, but most not, are wonderful young adults who studied hard in college, graduated, got good jobs, no one is doing drugs, or has been in jail. I have to think their high school had something to do with it. There is stealing at every school, ask the parents. If anyone wants to donate the money for security cameras all over the school, go ahead. My sons nor their friends have ever been involved in a fight at school. 2 of mine were quiet and 2 more out-going. All found friends and did fine there.


Rockhurst High School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
I really don't know what the parent is talking about who says things are out of control at Rockhurst. My son is a senior there and is not a jock at all, he has no interest in sports of any kind. And he loves Rockhurst and has never been bullied. He routinely stays till around 5:00, which is when I pick him up and I've never seen anything out of control, just a bunch of boys sitting around talking or playing football outside. There will always be thefts, I'm sure there are far fewer than at other schools. Rockhurst is a great school.

Rockhurst High School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a student
As a recently graduated student and an executive officer in Student Government, Rockhurst does have security cameras on campus, and a tight knit security system inside the school, and a security company who monitors the parking lot during school hours. Kids that are there until 5:00 are there because they are involved in extra curricular activities. Although sports are big at Rockhurst, that is not what we are about. Anyone who has ever gone to school at this institution, along with the faculty can tell you that. During my four years at Rockhurst, there were two fights, Rockhurst is a brotherhood. Rockhurst takes teenagers and molds them into intelligent young men who are more than prepared for college and the real world. If you want your child to be prepared for the world and to succeed, send them to Rockhurst, it is an investment that pays back.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rockhurst High School
9301 State Line Road, Kansas City, MO  64114
(816) 363-2036
Last modified Rockhurst High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Rockhurst High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top