Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
398 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Pius X High School 5

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school. Excellent college prep. Many excellent, committed teachers, small class size, motivated students, excellent college placement.

St. Pius X High School 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
Our sons have gone through the St Pius X experience with their eyes, hearts and minds wide open. This school has offered all the children so much for the money! There is a real sense of community with a tough curriculum and devoted faculty. The parents are allowed and encouraged to be involved which has helped us make some great friends of all denominations! The sports experience is great, the coaches care for the kids and the competition is second to none. We compete with schools from Western Missouri, Eastern Kansas, Iowa and Nebraska. I have been fortunate enough to make nice acquaintances with parents and staffs from the four state region. Sportsmanship here is awesome, unfortunately for some, grades are required to be allowed to play. That being said, some have left our school being academically ineligible for sports and flourished with great grades in the public schools, need I say more? If the parents and children are ready to put in some hard work, this is the place for you and your children.


St. Pius X High School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter is a freshman this year at St. Pius X High School. The transformation that has occurred in her personality and disposition can be compared to a flower blossoming. She has gone from being quite introverted and only focused on her academics, to a child who has been on the tennis team, involved in the ministry extracurricular activities, volunteering within the school as well as a local non-profit foundation, and still an honor roll student. Her friendships have grown in a positive way and she is truly happy each day when she comes home from school. She loves her high school experience. We feel very blessed to have such a strong and dedicated school staff and faculty helping guide and prepare our daughter for her future. As parents we also feel very welcomed into the St. Pius community. It s nice to feel like we are part of the school and that staff knows our names.

St. Pius X High School 1

Posted January 30, 2011
- a parent
First off, let me say that St. Pius X has strong teachers and administrators. They work hard for their students. But, St. Pius does not offer a strong, challenging curriculum for its students. While they say that they offer a "college preparatory" curriculum, they truly don't. The sports programs are strong in the fact that students who at other schools wouldn't be able to participate can participate in them at St. Pius X, but they don't compete at the same level as other private parochial, or public, schools in the Kansas City area. St. Pius X also has a very weak arts department. While they have basic arts and choral programs, they don't offer any music or band classes and their drama department is also poor. In conclusion, other schools in the Kansas City area are much stronger than St. Pius, such as Rockhurst High School or St. Teresa's Academy. Even most public schools offer a better experience.

St. Pius X High School 5

Posted June 29, 2010
- a parent
Our experience at St. Pius has been a great one. My daughter will be a sophomore in the fall. We were a little nervous at first because none of her close friends from junior high were attending with her, but the SPX community is so warm and engaging, from the administration to the faculty to the students, that she has had a completely positive experience and is really loving school. An honors student, she has found classes to be academically challenging but has received the instruction and support she has needed to achieve and maintain a strong GPA. We can't wait for next year!


St. Pius X High School 5

Posted June 24, 2010
- a parent
St. Pius X provided extraordinary opportunities for our two students. Both were challenged academically, earning 26 and 32 hours of college credit, respectively. The school's faith- and service-focused environment further prepared our children to be the compassionate and socially responsible young adults they are today. Their education and experiences here - in addition to the substantial college scholarships most seniors receive - make a St. Pius education a worthy investment.

St. Pius X High School 5

Posted June 23, 2010
- a parent
Having had 4 children graduate from St. Pius, we can honestly say that we've experienced ALL of St. Pius. All of our children were well prepared for and are doing great in college and beyond. In varying degrees they've all been involved in the arts, sports and service. Overall, teachers have been very good. We like that our children have been accountable for their actions as well.

St. Pius X High School
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
I have been a guest presenter in this school and was very impressed by their academic interest, friendliness, and good behavior.


St. Pius X High School 5

Posted October 09, 2006
- a parent
The school's reputation for providing a quality education and experience was well deserved. My child graduated before the new and improved facilities were completed, but the decision to send her there was never about the buildings, it was about high expectations in general, scholastic excellence, extra curricular activities, and a caring community. The new facilities just make it that much better. It may sound like a cliche, but the faculty truly cares. I understand the school is growing - and there is a reason for it.

St. Pius X High School 4

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
We sent all three of our daughters to St Pius over a 10 year period. Although concerned over offerings compared to public schools at the start, it was the right decision. They were very active in sports and were challenged on the academic side. I would do it all over again!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Pius X High School
1500 NE 42nd Ter, Kansas City, MO  64116
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (816) 453-3450
Last modified St. Pius X High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top