Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 347 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kansas City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2012

My son has been attending Calvary Lutheran School since he was 18 months old. He's now finishing up Kindergarten, and we could not be happier with the quality of education he's receiving. He's reading fluently at a first grade level and beyond, and his writing, math, art and music skills are remarkable. We attribute his success to his wonderful teacher and the nurturing classroom environment she provides. Our second son is in Preschool at Calvary, and he's doing equally well. His teachers love him so much, and we love them, too. Calvary Lutheran School is a community of faith, friendship and academic excellence. It's a very happy environment where kids can explore their interests, try new things and share their thoughts without fear of judgment or bullying. For our family, Calvary just feels like "home." We've made strong friendships with the other families and look forward to seeing our kids grow up together. I would heartily recommend Calvary to any Kansas City family that's looking for an excellent education and enriching school environment for their child. You don't have to be Lutheran to attend. Calvary is for everyone, and it's truly one of the best schools in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

This our first year at the Wornall campus and we are very blessed to have found Calvary. Calvary provides an excellent foundation for young children and they have a wonderful supportive staff who is sincere and dedicated to what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Because my grandchildren are getting a terrific education there and being taught good values.


Posted October 6, 2010

My child gets everything she needs academically and for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Calvary has been a cornerstone to the community for many decades and having attended some time back can see the value it has added to my life and to those around me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I have been a member of the church for many years and sent my children to the school from k-8. Children get a good Christian education. My children die benefit from the edlucatio received at Calavry.


Posted May 17, 2010

Calvary offers the BEST christian education around! The teachers live by the morals and values they teach! The curriculum is outstanding and my children are thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I love Calvary because they provide an excellent Christian education for my children. It is a small, close knit school where you feel at home. I also went to Calvary when I was a little girl and was very excited that my children could also attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

They provide an excellent education and great spiritual guidance in a caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I love Calvary because it is home! The teachers and staff are awesome. I feel that they are an extension of the beliefs that we have at home. The quality of the education is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The cost of this private christian school is very reasonable specifically when you compare the level of education your child receives! Calvary students test very well compared to students in other private & public schools! Our teachers provide strong instruction in academics and christian principles with just the right balance. The school also provides a good mix of extra-curricular activies; including music, arts, sports, and academic bowls. Parent involvement is a significant addition to the close-knit environment. If you are looking for a small classroom setting your child can grow in academically and spiritually, you need look no further than Calvary Lutheran Schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I graduated from Calvary and my oldest graduted from there as well. The administration is very caring and helps each child in a unique way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Calvary is a good school because the love of Christ is shown from each and everyone of its teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

They taught my children with an exceptional academic program coupled with Christian moral values
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

I like the fact that they are teaching children to be good people and also to be good people in relation to their world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Provides opportunity for education in a faith-based setting!


Posted September 25, 2009

They have the best teachers and EEC program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

It is a Christian school with strong academic standards and it has great community! Teachers are amazingly caring and capable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

The teachers are great. They really care about the kids education and teaching them about Christ.


Posted September 23, 2009

The closeness you feel with the parents, kids and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 74%
Black 10% 17%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (816) 361-5979

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7500 Oak Street
Kansas City, MO 64114
Phone: (816) 595-4020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kansas City Academy
Kansas City, MO



Academie Lafayette
Kansas City, MO



University Academy-Lower
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT