Advertisement
Advertisement

Kansas City Academy

Private | 6-12 | 47 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kansas City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

This school is great! My student is focused on going to college and the teachers are doing an excellent job of preparing her for it. The teachers really get to know the students and how to motivate them. I would highly recommend KCA to any parent with a college bound teen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

No other school offers anything this close to the ideal for our daughter. The small student population, open atmosphere, and creative programming are all well-suited to make the most of her experience and needs. Above all it s the KCA philosophy we love the mutual respect among students and faculty and the integrated educational approach provide a fertile environment to nurture her intellectual, social, and personal growth. Thus grounded, she is empowered to utilize her strengths with confidence and meet her challenges in an atmosphere of trust.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

The best school in the area for any kid who doesn't fit the public (or private) school mold. Learning by doing. Small classes. Tight community where the kids are part of the family and realize their potential, as the teachers have the flexibility to teach kids in their own learning styles, with autonomy outside the regulators' boxes. This school will create thinkers and do-ers, instead of followers. DO SOMETHING DIFFERENT. I AM A KCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

This school has the most engaged teachers, students and administrators I have ever encountered. It reminds me of a montessori school, but for grades 6-12. It is small and relaxed, but academically challenging. My son never enjoyed traditional classroom learning, even though his grades were good. Now he is fully absorbed and passionate about the subjects he is studying at KCA. He feels he is an important part of the school community. I can't recommend KCA highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

Fantastic school! My son just graduated from the KCA and he had an incredible experience. Close knit, family environment, teachers bring out the best in students with a personalized approach, focus on developing each student as a person, one on one to develop each child's potential. Great experiences for my son and our entire family and he is so excited and ready for college. Take advantage of this special educational community and send your child to the Kansas City Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

my kid has never learnd so much and doesnt hate going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

Hello, I went to KCA for most of my high school years, I can say for me, and most of my fellow classmates that I graduated with, that this is one of the best high schools in America. It is a small, private high school, with big aspirations. The teachers are like a second family to me. I made so many great memories here, and this will continue to be a huge part of my life. If you do your homework, and participate in class, you will succeed. I received a 3.8 here, and I am going to one of the best east coast private colleges. Other graduates go to Sarasota, FL and Prescott, AZ. Shannon
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2010

Dont send you kids here! Please This school is gross. Yes, its fun for the kids but they dont learn ANYTHING! and they just give to children A's when they dont learn anything .My child went here her freshmen year and ugh! im school but i love the teachers and student but its a bad school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I dont like it. it smells and dity and like they make the children clean and i didnt really learn anything. But i love the school :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2007

Kansas City Academy has been an outstanding school for my son. My son has always been a motivated student but felt torn down socially in the public school. He has always been more artsy and not interested in sports. This school helped gradually restore his self-esteem. The art, theater and music programs are outstanding. The classes are small. The teachers and staff get to know the kids and can work with them on their individual needs. The academics are college prep. The down side of a smaller school is there cannot be as much diversity in curriculum. However, the school will work with you in either independent studies or classes from other institutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

Kansas City Academy is by far the best school for our son. He is not a 'cookie cutter kid' nor are many of the students at KCA. The student/teacher ratio is great. The music and arts programs are the best. They have good PE and health instruction. There are no sports programs but I think that leaves room for a better focus on what really matters. They stress individuality and a student being responsible for what they learn. They want to know all about the student, not just how much book knowledge they have. The school teaches the kids how to be responsible for their work and their actions. Parents can be as involved as they wish. The policy is completely open door. I highly recomment Kansas City Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Don't send your child here if they are ADD or ADHD. It's a big waste of money and a rip off. Staff just let's a child do what they want and if they choose to do nothing then so be it. No goal, guidelines or expectations are set out for them. Public schools are by far a much better choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2004

The polar opposite to a KCMO School District school. A fantastic student to teacher ratio that enables a personal relationship with the faculty and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 77%
Black 7% 17%
Asian 6% N/A
Hispanic 6% 4%
Two or more races 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:25 pm
School Leader's name
  • Kathy Baldwin-Heitman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (816) 444-8354

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7933 Main St
Kansas City, MO 64114
Website: Click here
Phone: (816) 444-5225

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Calvary Lutheran School
Kansas City, MO



Academie Lafayette
Kansas City, MO


Whitefield Academy
Kansas City, MO


Center Alternative
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT