Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 5

Posted February 19, 2011
- a parent
It is a great school for our kids, strong Academic background, strong Islamic education, builds strong Islamic character in the students, my kids were in the public school, and now they are in the Islamic school, I just want to say that there is a big difference between a teacher who cares and a teacher who does not care, once i went to ask a teacher about my son, she started looking in here grading book, and she said I don't know the names, she only knows how to grade the students. The teachers in the Islamic school care about the students like they are their own kids. and they push them forward. They might lack resources, but that makes them creative in their own way. Academically, when i moved my son to the Islamic school, i asked him what is the difference? he answered I'm actually learning in this school. so it is easy to criticize but we have to remember that people have different abilities.

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 5

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
There is certainly room for improvement in any other private school. If you want your "child to learn in a high quality school" you will need to pay high quality tution. Most of us are not willing to pay a moderate tution to cover the cost of education for out kids but want to live in a nice home and drive a late model car. Public school kids cost tax payers about $7,300 a year. Most Islamic Schools charge about half of that. Islamic schools don't have the resouces elite private schools have. We parents are not willing to pay and most of us are not willing to spend the time at home to reinforce what our children learn at school. I have 6 of my 7 children in the Islamic school and they perform better than public school kids in addition to learning Arabic, Islamci studies and Quran. "everyone is someone's relative" because you and I chose to go after a higher paying jobs. Those in charge are left with a very few options, to convince those who know to teach for very little money. Get involved and support your Islamic School to get better instead of just complaining.


Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 5

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a student
This school is great because it provides great learning experiances for you.Although this school might not have all the resources to provide the students the learning envoirent is great.I really think muslim kids should be put in this school because thay will learn things about islam that thier parents couldnt even teach them.


Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
The school offers: #1 a strong Islamic environment where your child can really develop a strong Muslim identity #2 academically, our school has scored above National scores in all areas of the Stanford and ITBS standardized tests. We have alumni who are now Doctors or in med school, engineers or in engineering school, lawyers or are in law school, and many other highly educated fields. MashaAllah. My oldest son has attended the school since he was 3 yrs old and now is 18, graduated from ISGKC with 42 college credits under his belt and is not finishing his Associates in Engineering in order to transfer to KU as a Jr. #3 The teachers and administrators do care deeply for every child to suceed. THESE TO ME ARE THE IMPORTANT THINGS regarding a school, NOT THE POLITICS that may be at play.

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 2

Posted August 23, 2008
- a parent
The Good. Islamic environment is it. The level of education is not there, the teachers lack training, experiance or even the ability to follow the programs outlined in the books. I want my child to learn in a high quality school and this is not it. The managment is not able to manage, the school is a mess everyone is everyone elses relative and no enforcment of the basic regulations. As for Quran and Arabic, forget it. My daughter can tell you 50 Arabic words but can't put a sentence togather. Quran is memorization as high speed. No understanding what so ever.

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 4

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
Small class sizes, teachers really DO care about student performance, strong academic background, strong Islamic education, students develope strong Islamic identity...now, the negatives: few resources (financial as well as physical), lack of counselling for high school students (ACT/SAT prep). The school is truly blessed dispite the areas of needed improvement. I would ALWAYS choose the Islamic School of Greater Kansas City over a public school anyday.


Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a student
Hello/salamualaykum. The teaching standard in this school is high. I learned a lot because the teachers weren't only good, but were creative. I remember going to public school, and being the top of the class in Math especially. Only one drawback is SAT/ACT prep. The child must understand how important these tests are, and its not ISGKC's responsiblity prepare them exclusively. This is a weak case, as the school has much more to offer than academics. The school builds in the child a strong personality as a Muslim and a human being, one who worships and thinks about others before themselves. So alumnis, be knowledgeable, commited, contributing citizens. Thank you

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City 4

Posted April 26, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Islamic School of Greater Kansas City
10007 James A Reed Rd, Kansas City, MO  64134
(816) 763-0322
Last modified Islamic School of Greater Kansas City is a Private school that serves grades K-10
Islamic School of Greater Kansas City Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top