Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northgate Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is wonderful just the way she is and I admire her for being the adult in a world where the "adults" at her school act more like children.

Northgate Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
The adults don't behave with honesty, integrity, and fairness. How can their students? Attitude reflects leadership.


Northgate Middle School 2

Posted January 26, 2016
- a community member
Better than St. Joseph School District by a very little margin. Poor parent communication. The school does little to prevent bullying or communicate accurately with parents. A lot of finger pointing occurs.

Northgate Middle School 1

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Our Daughter has been out of school since September for being attacked by another student she was being bullied we notified the school and our daughter talked with her counselor about the bullying. The School District slandered us made us out to be the bad guys". Todd White Refuses to Transfer our daughter. Still to this day they are Violating My Daughter Civil Rights!!

Northgate Middle School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
My kids enjoy they school. Teachers communicate timely about tasks and expectations. I've never had a teacher ignore my email or phone call. There are many ways students can get involved in school. It's a good place to learn


Northgate Middle School 1

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
I concur with a previous parent that Northgate was very disappointing to the extent that we are moving to the Park Hill School district. I am an involved parent with my child. Most of the teachers and administrative staff are "set in their ways" and after many conversations I now see was just "lip service", "public relations nonsense" or "customer no service", take your pick. The Power School online grading program is under utilized and does NOT reflect accurate grades as I have on several occasions had to contact the school to have the grades corrected. With a couple excepts have refused to inform me of upcoming task my child was required to complete so that I may proactively monitor his work so consequently it has unnecessarily multiplied the challenge for me to assist and my son to complete his work. The couple of teachers who was proactive in this area helped to prove my point. It is much better to be proactive then reactive. Northgates's unofficial but obvious position with parents is "speak only when spoken to". In talking to other parents I have found the school is quick to blame the student at least in part in their defense on many occasions. SHAME ON THEM.

Northgate Middle School 1

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
Northgate was a dismal experience for my child. She was bullied and staff made no effort to remedy the problem - even after it was brought to their attention. The kids at that school are apparently not taught the basics of respecting other individuals. There were a couple good teachers that my daughter had, but overall, teaching efforts were targeted to the lowest common denominator. My child entered middle school all excited about learning, and her experience at Northgate beat that right out of her. We're having to do a whole lot of work to undo the damage inflicted by her year at Northgate. I am most unhappy. I used to be a big proponent of public schools, but no more based on this experience. Public schools, starting with Northgate, should be dismantled and parents given vouchers to enable them to send their kids to schools of their choice. We're lucky because we can afford to take my daughter out of Northgate and send her to a private school - which she will be attending next year. I really feel for the parents of kids who don't have similar resources and who are stuck in that school.

Northgate Middle School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2009
- a student
I loved this school! I attended Northgate from 2005-2008 and have met the nicest people there. The teachers are there after school to help you and I was prepared for high school this year.


Northgate Middle School 2

Posted April 13, 2009
- a parent
This school is horrible. The diversity isnt there. I have a biracial child that got teased and made fun of because he was different what are we teaching kids.

Northgate Middle School 5

Posted December 05, 2006
- a student
PSH! this is the best school ever. Love Chelsea

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northgate Middle School
2117 NE 48th St, Kansas City, MO  64118
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (816) 413-6100
Last modified Northgate Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top