Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Center Sr. High

Public | 9-12 | 674 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

I have one child left at Center High School. While there are a number of excellent teachers, administration is so bad that it keeps parents away from crucial involvement. I've spoken to many families who have left Center due to the ineptitude of Center's administration and the flagrant ignoring of parental concerns. The grade school was great, but had I known what was ahead at the high school administrative level, we never would have stayed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My School is Center High School. A hidden gem in South Kansas City. They are their own district and not only fully accredited, but also a 2012 Missouri Gold Star School of Excellence. The district is the right size for the staff to get to know families and help them through their entire school career. My son isn't just another number like he was in the big suburban districts. He has a name and personality. In fact his 2nd grade teacher was just asking how he is doing in High School. Center puts the well-being of its students and the community first and provides a first rate education in the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

I am the parent of two Center High School graduates from the classes of 2005, 2008 and soon to be 2012. Both of my kids are attending college and the teachers at Center prepared them for college. I do believe the Center offers a great education for the students and they have teachers and school administrators who care and show compassion. With any school, it is the responsibility of the student to learn and parent involvement to keep the student on track to become a good student and good citizen. Center offers a variety of clubs, sports, and programs to involve the students and keep them engaged in school beyond normal school hours. I I am proud to be a part of the center community and a a parent who supports school activities and I serve as a volunteer, as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

I am a teacher at CHS and I love it here. The kids are a joy to be around, the administration is one of the best I've ever seen, and the staff is caring and supportive of both the students and eachother. The Center family supports its sports and its arts programs both, and that is refreshing. The environment is wonderful, the school is clean, and has wonderful technology. I personally send my own child to the middle school because it's so much better than the suburban school we came from. I love being at Center, I love my students and I love teaching here. Go Yellowjackets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

Center High School is the best school in its community. Center has survived the horror of racial riots and the side effects of discrimination, changes in leadership, test score fluxuation, the rise and fall of major extracurriculars, and the lose of good teachers. However, Center has become a school that represents true racial and cultural diversity, at Center there is truly equality. Some of the nations greatest educators have steped through the doors of Center High School....such as Mr.Timothy Greenwell (Formr.Center All-Star), ***Kathleen Chirpich*** (Most Amazing Educator of All Time),Glenda Werst...(Center Mathmatician), Skye Nicholson (Formr.Center Scientist). These are just a few that have touched my life, and many other lives. At Center the activities are spectacular with amazing student, parent, and staff participation. Our small size has enabled us to all be so close and to love eachother and our school. We are Yellow Jackets!!!!!!!!! We are Center!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

I was a student at center but i now live in houston texas and i must say their is no place i'd rather be then at center.Yes center has it's problems but what place doesn't. People always talk about what the school used to be like and that's not fair to the kids to are there now.Center will never be the same because times have changed. The standard of education has changed and so has the world. No we may not have the most educated teachers but what they lack in degrees they make up for in compassion. The teachers at center actually care about their students and they offer help beyond the class room duties. The activities at center provide a safe haven from the streets surrounding the school and to be honest north kansas city is becomong quite dangerous. The facilities offered to the students are better than any other school around. Center is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2007

They have controlled the behavior part but now they just dont care and they keep getting new people that dont care...Overall it a good education but it is going downhill...They have very poor science and english departments with very excellent math and social studies departments...Its ok for know but who knows how long...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

I am a jounior at Center High school and i want to say that this school is ok true it did used to be better but there is only so much one can do. If you come to Center than just buckle down dont worry about the cliques and stuff just study hard and ask for help if you need it. Mercedes
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2006

Center Senior High is a very good school. I'm a 2006 graduate from Center and i go to Hutchinson Community College on a cheerleading Solar ship and then I'm tranfering to Hawaii Pacific Unversity. I know that some times you hear things about Center on the news such as fights but every school has fights. the teacher at center really care about the students only if the students care about there education. The only thing bad I can say about Center is that there really is that when i was a Junior there i think a lot of people cars were getting broke into and that some of the sports there are really bad such as baseball, boy soccer and boys basketball and cheerleading but there are some very good sports to do there like Danceline, Band, Color Guard, Hip-Hop team. Thats about the only thing that was really bad at Center.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 7, 2006

I graduated from Center in 2001, and had nothing but the best experiences, in sports ,caring teachers and principal, and students. Also the parents were also involved in our extracurricular activities. If I ever return to KC I would surely enroll my child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2006

I usedc to go to center high school, then i moved to grandview. center highschool is an awesome school. teachers care and are willing to help you out. everyone at center has school spirit... and i know that for a fact because i was a cheerleader there and at every center sport event, the bleachers were filled and everyone was cheering on their school. of course there are fights, but what school doesnt have fights? like seriously if i could go back to center i would.they got a new principal last year and that was the best thing for center. the new principal has made center a better and safer place for the students. kristina bisby
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 3, 2006

I am a senior at Center High School and I really like this school. As far as all of the fights and problems that go on in this school... think about it... What school doesn't have fights? What school doesn't have problems that they have to deal with? I am glad that I will be graduating from Center because I've been here since my freshman year, and I probably would not have wanted to go to another school. The principles this year leave a lot to be desired but everything else is fine. ~Charmaine~
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2005

I graduated from Center Sr. High in 1995. My brother in 1997, sister in 2000 and the baby graduating in 2007. Over the years I have seen a decline in the level of education and lack of academic programs. But I strongly believe that parents should also contribute to the welfare of the children to ensure that there isn't a continuation of this decline. Like many other districts as they grow things get out of synch. The staff is working hard to set new goals and finding different ways to achieve them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2005

I go to center. i am currently a junoir there and have ben in the district since kindergarden. i think our school is diplorible. half of the teachers dont know what they are doin or cant take the time out of their 'busy' day to help you with important questions. If i were a perent i would not want my child going to a school like i do .
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2004

Fights every day? No. I'm a Center senior this year and there is no where in the world I'd rather be. Not only do the teachers care, they are your friends. No where else will you see this much culture and character in a school. We are fully accredited and have improving attendance rates, test scores and ACT scores. As safe as any school you'll find. The Center School District is technically urban but has many suburban qualities. A great place to be. Truly unique. I'm proud to be a yellowjacket.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2004

I am a Senior at Center High School, and I believe that Center is on the path to a great education system. This is our first year with new administration almost district wide. I see some major improvements in the education, and I seem some problems. But I am sure that with time all the probalems can be solved and our school will be providing the best education in one of the most diverse atmospheres possible. This school has taught me about life and how to succeed in it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2003

I think Center school district is a great district for children to be in. I graduated in May 2002. Very glad to say that everyone there did there best to accommodate me and my educational needs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 2, 2003

This school is going downhill fast. Five years ago it was an ok school but now there are kids doing whatever they want, teachers not caring. I don't like sending my daughter there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
32%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
70%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
44%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
72%
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
43%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students40%
Black41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students88%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White92%
Free or reduced-price lunch92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students46%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
American Indiann/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilities24%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students89%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White100%
Free or reduced-price lunch86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students70%
Black63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
American Indiann/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunch63%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White90%
Free or reduced-price lunch77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students55%
Black44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities23%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 17%
White 20% 74%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8715 Holmes
Kansas City, MO 64131
Phone: (816) 349-3330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Whitefield Academy
Kansas City, MO


Center Alternative
Kansas City, MO


Gillis Center School
Kansas City, MO


Kansas City Academy
Kansas City, MO


Rockhurst High School
Kansas City, MO


Sherwood Center
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT