Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 281 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2013

Dr Angela Price is a very out going young lady that takes out the time , to structure and her first priortiy is the students, staff and parents. I like the point from the time you enter the school she takes the time to speak with the parents even when she is very busy. Thank you for providing a great a school that provides a great education for the students .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Indian Creek Elementary school in Kansas City, MO (Center School District) is all about educating children and helping the students achieve their goals. This school tries to address the needs of all the children and promotes learning, self control, and character building. The teachers, staff, and principal encourage the pupils to be the best they can be. The students, who are from many backgrounds and nationalities, are respected by teachers and staff and learn respect for each other and staff as well. Parents and families are kept informed of the progress the students make toward their goals.


Posted May 20, 2013

Our great-granddaughter has attended Indian Creek Elementary for the past 3 years. Everyone--the teachers, the office staff, the maintenance staff, and especially Mrs. Price--has made our student and her family feel welcome and appreciated. Music, art, physical education and advanced courses are all first rate. We hope our student will finish her elementary education at ICE. We also love the diversity of the student body.


Posted May 16, 2013

My school is Indian Creek Elementary School in Kansas City, Missouri. The teachers are great. Dr. Price, the Principal is wonderful and always welcoming.


Posted May 1, 2012

This is our first and final year, and we have thoroughly enjoyed being at ICE. The teachers and principal are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I love Indian Creek Elementary. From day one I felt very much a part of the I.C.E. family. The principal is very kind and warm. I am a huge fan of the uniforms and I believe they promote equality. The school as a whole looks more unified and professional. The teachers are wonderful and really strive to make I.C.E. the best it can be. This is our 4th year at Indian Creek Elementary and we have enjoyed it. The ART teacher is amazing...she provides a wonderful environment and foundation for all the students. The P.E. teacher has a very positive effect on not only the physical fitness of children, but their attitude and health. The music teacher shows his passion about music and is dedicated to creating a fun learning environment. I.C.E rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Fantastic staff and a wonderful caring principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We are a small but we care about all the students in our school. We do the best that we can with our limited resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

My son has attended this school for two years and we've been very happy with it. The principal is very caring and the teachers all seem great. They have a wonderful accelerated program and fantastic art and music teachers. Communication with parents is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

I love this school. Indian Creek has wonderful, caring teachers, a great support staff, the art teacher is terrific and the music teacher shows great enthusiasm and has a wonderful knowledge of music. If you walk the halls of the school you will see tons of children's art work, school work, pictures of children, boards full of goals and meeting goals. Everyone should get such a good start in education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

Overall I am very pleased with indian creek. I have had my kids there for 5 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
12%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students51%
Black53%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students67%
Black65%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students59%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 17%
Hispanic 17% 5%
White 11% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Angela Price
Fax number
  • (816) 612-4287

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9801 Grand
Kansas City, MO 64114
Phone: (816) 612-4250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Whitefield Academy
Kansas City, MO


Boone Elementary School
Kansas City, MO




Gillis Center School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT