Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Center Middle

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

I'm a parent that has a child that attends Center Middle School. I love the school, i love what the school stands "Made Smart" is the theme. I love how hte principle knws all the kids names in the whole school. They keep the kids current on new events in the class as well, outside the class room. Over all love the school i have a little that will start next year cant wait. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Center Middle school has very good leadership. Though, the way the Center district's grading policy is for their Mathimatics and other main subjects are causing a big problem for the students, and parents for that matter. I think that this middle school should take better notice that the students are falling behind. And at a very rapid pace. I'm afraid there will be many more retentions in the 2008-2009 school year than ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I am an eighth grader at center middle school. The teachers are very willing to work with the students, and they're willing to put in extra time to help the students to better understand things. But the problem is that the school is a school where you have to walk on egg shells everyday. People have a lot of racest comments towards others. It's really not a place that's full of respect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2006

Don Bauml and Rusty Boyle are 2 of the best physical education teachers this side of the Mason Dixon Line too bad they don't have the other 'B' teacher to balance their fitness pyramid anymore - Center is a great school and I miss the students and faculty...what a great comradarie!! SC schools are not even in the same ballpark yet (with salaries, test scores, or return teachers) Burrell
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 27, 2006

My child started as a sixth grader last year. I was a little hesitant, but the new leadership that this school has is amazing!! The overall feel and focus of the school are really moving this school forward. Having a principal specifically work with the sixth graders really helped with the transition. My child will be in 8th grade this year and I know that his great experiences will continue. Kudos to the district, three principals and staff on pushing this to be one of the higher quality middle schools in the Kansas City area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 12, 2004

Center Middle is an okay school but there are few extra-curricular-activities and lunch prices are to high. On the other hand, there are some awsome teachers especially for sixth grade. There are some major behavior problems but I think that part of that is lack of parenting but I'm not sure because I'm a seventh grader there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2004

I was an 8th Grader at the school(2003-2004 school year). I have been in the center school district since kindergarten. I feel that this school may be one of the best middle schools in Missouri. There is plenty of parent involvement and the students are encouraged to be involved in everything from sports to tutoring. As for the teachers they treat you with kindness and respect..
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

This is a great school and run by a great principal with the drive to keeping changing it for the better. I have had two children in this school under this principal (one still). This principal and her staff are always looking for ways to get the children to learn and they keep the children interested in learning. Whenever I have had a problem it is addressed right away and taken care of, if I have a question about a subject or teacher it is answered. I can't say enough nice things about how the principal and her staff run this school, I wish she was in charge of the high school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

I have a daughter in the 8th grade at Center Middle School. I was told by the principal along with a group of parents, during enrollment for the last school year (2002-03) that she did not want any 'drive by' parents....meaning, she didn't want parents to just drop off and pick up their kids on a regular basis without getting involved in their child's school. I now realize this was only double talk. The more parents try to become informed and involved, the more the principal pushes back and really does not want any involvement, let alone any opinions or suggestions on improvements that could be made at 'her school'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students41%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students39%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students45%
Black41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students37%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students32%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students37%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 17%
White 18% 74%
Hispanic 10% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

326 East 103rd St
Kansas City, MO 64114
Phone: (816) 612-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Whitefield Academy
Kansas City, MO


The Barstow School
Kansas City, MO


St Thomas More School
Kansas City, MO



Center Alternative
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT