Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Staley High School

Public | 9-12 | 1377 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2013

The teachers at Staley are really cool. They work with you and get to know you on a personal level. This year they started Falcon hour, which is like an hour for lunch where you can go get help in a class, personally I think it's a big flop! I really don't care for it, but I must say the have found a schedule that works! The sports are good. I really enjoy the football! They just need to figure out the kinks that they still have but will get their someday! Over all I like the students, we're like a family!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2011

I am currently in my second year of going to Staley and I love it here! The teachers are amazing. I love to go to football games because everyone has AMAZING school spirit (it also helps that we win a lot) The Gifted/Talented Program is really great as well, we even has a special counselor who helps you get on the right path to college. The campus is beautiful and the layout actually makes sense. Staley offers a ton of electives for just about every interest, and we have tons of fun clubs. Once every three weeks we have two days out of the week where we go to "Direct Intervention" and it is a good time to make up tests or get extra help. Staley offers plenty of AP, Challenge, and College classes so it is very well equipped for the student who wants to challenge themselves. Staley also has great performing arts teachers, they are all fun to work with and they push you to be your best. The orchestra is phenomenal, the marching band is spectacular, the choir is amazing, and theater is wonderful. The cheerleaders, dancers ("emeralds" & "diamonds") and band all perform at home football games and they are FANTASTIC! All together Staley is a well-rounded, fun, and student-friendly school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2010

Great High School and Superb Leadership. Love the location---Maple Woods Pkwy need to be made into 4 lanes!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2010

I recently graduated from Staley and I'd say my experience was mixed but I believe the school is headed in the right direction. The administration's micro-managing tendencies have been keeping the students and teachers from really shining because the handpicked teachers are really outstanding. There were a lot of restrictions that kept the kind of out of the box ideas that good teachers come up with from taking root. This is one of the best schools for budding athletes in the Kansas City Area. The coaches were hand picked and the school immediately established itself on the field, court, and mat in it's first two years. I would fully recommend this school to people looking to move to the area. It fully prepared me for college and the life ahead.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2009

Great school for athletes. Poorly lead and administered though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2009

Fully focused on athletics. Strong teachers selected to open new school. Adminsitration is poor at best. Does not return phone calls to parents in a timely manner or never. Cannot seem to keep student records accurate. Counselors do not follow-up timely with requests nor provide colleges iwth materials needed for students applying to these schools. Overall, a huge dissapointment for the communicty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I'm in my second year of school here at Staley and I have to say that it's wonderful!!! The teachers are awesome and actually treat you as an adult and there are a ton of extra-curriculars and clubs are popping up all of the time! And don't get me started on the school itself- its beautiful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

Amazing school! Love the teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

Great teachers, great students, great schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
60%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
54%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunch64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students83%
Black51%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Free or reduced-price lunch67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Free or reduced-price lunch78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students68%
Black40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunch52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 74%
Black 8% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 NE Shoal Creek Parkway
Kansas City, MO 64156
Phone: (816) 413-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maple Valley School
Kansas City, MO



Oak Park High School
Kansas City, MO




Park Hill Day School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT