Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Kansas City, MO
Students enrolled: 750
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin City Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Martin City (MC) K-8 is an AWESOME school. I love that our daughter has been able to attend since kindergarten & is now an 8th grader. She has gotten an outstanding education & benefited from a caring, dedicated, involved & talented teaching staff. Teachers are approachable. They are quick to address & respond to any concerns. Staff keep parents involved in the problem solving & overall educational processes. Communication is consistent and received in several formats. Administrators know us & our child by name. We are invited to participate in school events, field trips & PTA activities. There are various extra curricular events in which students can be involved. We enjoyed Honor Choir beginning at 4th grade. The whole music program is outstanding & they have an award winning Jazz Band at the Middle School. FYI ~ sports are added at Middle School. The school is diverse & students interact well. MC teaches all students to set goals & work to achieve them. Students learn that THEY are in charge of their future. Beginning in elementary school, MC students participate in the Science Fair so students can grow into more technical projects. Parent involvement is key to school success.

Martin City Elementary School 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a community member
I noticed most of the reviews are old. In recent years, 2014, the elem principal is only seen when district cameras or food is available. The elem asst principal is wishy and sometimes speaks and other times looks out as if she doesn't know you. Parents are misled and students are taunted by teachers if they don't pass benchmarks. Teachers have literally yelled out to students pass or fail in front of other students. Poorly managed institution


Martin City Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
We have been incredibly blessed to live near this school. The early childhood in the area is wonderful, too. The special education teachers are very caring and equipped to deal with a multitude of special needs. They have gone out of their way to help my sons with services, even though they are in regular classes. The assistant principal is fair, but stern, and knows the students by name. The front desk staff at the elementary and middle school are extremely friendly and helpful. The autism department is great and my neighbor's son is in their program. The school has everything we need AND a great before and after school program, LINC. The employees have a low turnover rate. The cafeteria ladies are nice and considerate and care about food allergies. The nurse is friendly and makes sure medications are dispensed. Even ISS has a caring teacher! Every teacher there has been amazing and this is the school to be at if you're in the Grandview School District. Negatives - There is low parent involvement and the middle school shares a building.

Martin City Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful school. I can't beleive how much my child has learned this year.

Martin City Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
This is my daughters first year at Martin City and I am very impressed with the level of learning she has received from her 4th grade teacher Ms. Walters.


Martin City Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Martin City Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are fantastic. The principal is involved and personable. It has been a great experience for my kids.

Martin City Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2008
- a community member
I work in the Before and After School Program, this school is excellent I wish I had a young child that could attend this school the teachers are helpful, friendly and very nice. They go out of their way to make you feel apart of the school. The principles are also very helpful and fair. I love working here.


Martin City Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Martin City Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
My children transferred into Martin City Elem. this school year. I love it! I am secure in knowing that they are in a safe and nurturing environment where teachers work a meeting the individual needs of each child. The class sizes seem large, but that does not take away from the individual attention each child receives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin City Elementary School
201 East 133rd St, Kansas City, MO  64145
(816) 316-5700
Last modified Martin City Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin City Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top