Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ruskin High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

The teachers are horrible and fights all the time they try to pick out the students who cause trouble and send them to an alternative school and the food is terrible it don't know how this school is not shut down?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2011

I am student who witnessed, and is still witnessing, the consolidation of Hickman Mills High and Ruskin High. Upon entering Ruskin, I had expected the worst about the school, the building, and the people. I am glad to say that all my assumptions proved to be just that: assumptions. I now love Ruskin and enjoy high school in general even more than I had at Hickman. I have yet to meet an unenthusiastic teacher. I truly feel as if every single one of my teachers, as well as extra-curricular sponsors, care for my academic development. They challenge and push me to exceed my own expectations. Overall, attending Ruskin, I feel assured that I will achieve my goals and acquire many desirable skills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

I currently attend ruskin high school as a junior. It is full of 'true' people. I moved to ruskin at the beginning of this year from Park Hill South in Parkville, MO. I was so scared the first day of school because i am one of about 30 white students but i learned how everyone was equal!! I love ruskin and i will be proud to graduate from ruskin.. 09!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2006

I went to Ruskin myself, from 9th grade to 3/4ths of the 11th grade. If I hadn't moved I would have been proud to have graduated there. Since I moved to a different school I dropped out, but if I had stayed in KC, I would have graduated. I loved it there. The teachers were great. They taught me a lot. Even the students were great there. They always wanted to learn. Bethany Johnson would have been a graduate of c/o '06'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 7, 2006

I am a parent of Ruskin High School.I have (2) children that have attended(1) that graduated and went on to college(3rd) year.Ruskin is a very good school and it takes involvement,when you disaggree with things.nothings perfect, but everyone from teachers,principals and students try to improve academicly, you have to want to learn to succeed,no matter what school you attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

I graduated from RHS in 2005 as an exchange student from Germany. Though the first impression wasn't that great, Ruskin is a great school with many people that care. I met more people that put efford in this school than not. I'm proud that I was given the opportunity to graduate from this school with many great people.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 1, 2005

I am A 2008 gradute at Ruskin HighSchool. Many times Ruskin gets areally bad review but in all it really is not that bad. The test scores may not be the best but we try and many teachers give thier all to the school. In all I am proud to gradute from RHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2005

I am an 2007 Ruskin high school graduate. Unlike most students that attend R.H.S I enjoy being there. In my opinion I believe that Ruskin is great school, we have dedicated teachers administrator, principals, student even our janiters are dedicated. We manage to keep our heads up no matter what people think or say -C. Harris c/o '07'
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2005

Ruskin has many strong programs. The Music Department includes Orchestra, Band, Music Theory/Composition (includes a partnership with the UMKC Conservatory of Music), and Choir. Debate, Drama, advanced math and science, languague arts all are important and strong at Ruskin. There are numerous AP classes. The sports program offers numerous opportunties for boys and girls. ROTC is one of the best in this area. There are many wonderful teachers, and the students are aware of the teachers that will help in any way possible with their educational process. We need more parent support overall, but there are many caring, wonderful parents that stay in contact with admin., faculty, other staff, and are involved with their child's education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2004

Ruskin is not as bad as people say that it is. The academics may not be the best but the school does have a lot of Wonderful teachers there that care. Ruskin Does have College Courses as well, That are credited to UMKC. Overall Ruskin is a good school. The Diversity there also will help to get us ready for the real world. I am part of the majority there and it isnt that bad. There are some bad kids but doesnt every school have that? Thanks to my teachers helping me though my rough times and building my self esteem I am going to attend a university and get my PHD in Psychology. If not for them I may not have realized my potenial.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2004

I am a 1997 graduate of Ruskin. Things are very different today, however. I am now an admissions counselor who visits twice a year to recruit students for college. The ACT, GPA, and extracurricular activities I'm seeing on college applications has decreasd considerably. I am dissapponited that the curriculum is not 'college-bound'. Just labeling a class as if does not justify the means. I think there are teachers that really care and many that are just there... With a little support and effort on both ends Ruskin can raise the bar.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2003

Ruskin gets a lot of unfair press and not enough good has been highlighted about our school. Parents should become more involved, the students should concentrate more on their academics. Some students do, but we need more students who care. We want to lead by example, so other parents will send their students to Ruskin rather than paying thousands of dollars to private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

This is a wonderful school! My daughter did not want to leave when we moved, so she commuted the 3o minute drive everymorning.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
15%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
22%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
51%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700046 East 111th St
Kansas City, MO 64134
Phone: (816) 316-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ruskin High School
Kansas City, MO


Cristos Academy
Kansas City, MO


Transition Center
Kansas City, MO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT