Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Symington Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Symington is a good school and I like the opportunities of advancement for the children.

Symington Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
The staff at this school are really unprofessional compared to the school we relocated from. My sons teacher was constantly calling in sick, she assumed all kids who attend this school are poverty stricken which was not OUR case. I also had to hear about my child being spanked by the substitute teacher and when I was notified the principal would not give me her name I complained and it went no where! All they said was that she has been released from working in this district. Poor teachers, principal, superintendent, and school. By the way my child would get only one page of homework a week in the 5th grade....unacceptable!


Symington Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Coming from Sante Fe my daughter and I really enjoyed and preferred Symington in the 09-10 sy. She was learning and had an EXCELLENT teacher! The next year when she returned for the 2nd grade everything began to go down hill. There were many things that occurred that disturbed me but the thing that upset me the most was when my daughter came home explaining that her teacher had shared her opinion on homosexuality. My family is faithful to our Christian beliefs so you can imagine my outrage! Of course I brought this info to the school principal who didn't believe that the teacher meant it in the way my daughter explained it but that she would definitely speak with her regarding the issue. The next year her 3rd grade teacher quit and the spent the rest of that year with a sub who could not control the class. By this time I had enough and went to the Hickman Mills Superintendent requesting a transfer that was granted. For the12-13 sy my request was denied due to the expected amount of transfers from KC.This year my 2nd grader spent the first part of the year in a class that was a combo of 2nd & 3rd graders and the recess aids are a unnecessary expense to say the least

Symington Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2009
- a parent
My 3 children have been going to Symington for about 3 years now and I have ran into ongoing problems with some of the teachers, recess aids who seem not to care about the students well-being, and the help that the child needs. This school is not organized at all & I have complained to the school & the school District many of times about different situations, and there still hasn't been a better change, it would seem to me that they would appreciate concerned, involved Parents so that this school can make changes and do better, 3 years is to long not to listen and take full responsibility. I am fed up & I don't even want my children to take any part at this school. I want the best education for my children!

Symington Elementary School 1

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Symington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2007
- a parent
I am a long resident of this neighborhood. All three of my grandchildren have attended this school. From what I have seen and experienced, the principal, teachers and staff are loving and nurturing towards the children. Needless to say there are instances where there are other factors that may cause someone to 'feel' neglected ... but, the teachers I had the pleasure of working with challenged and nurtured each of my grandchildren. All three are on the National Honor Society, play instruments and have been in NO trouble ... with the law or in school. Discipline and good work ethics start at HOME!

Symington Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Symington Elementary School 3

Posted February 09, 2005
- a parent
My child attended Kindergarten and first grade. I felt the teachers he had were wonderful. I had to withdraw my child after first grade, because my child fell behind due to parent involvement was low, where a lot of parents couldnt help their children with homework because they couldnt speak english. Causing the whole class to suffer. This was very sad. I also was told that the higher the grade levels, the more the teachers had to focus on discipling the children instead of teaching.


Symington Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2004
- a parent
I feel the teachers at Symington elementary are not concerned with the welfare of students or how well they are teaching them. I have seen first hand the daily abuse from teachers towards students. The neglect and harsh words are imbedded forever in the minds of students and will alter our childrens lives. To what extent? We will not know until the future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Symington Elementary School
8650 Ruskin Way, Kansas City, MO  64134
(816) 316-8050
Last modified Symington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Symington Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top