Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Warford Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Mike is a fantastic addition to Warford. He is excellent with the special needs children. I believe he is now considered a para and in the past has worked in the cafeteria. He is very compassionate and a great problem solver when it comes to helping special needs children calm down. Unfortunately, he is not always available due to helping with many children. If the school would expand their staff to have multiple teachers like Mr. Mike it would be far more friendly to children with special needs.

Warford Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
The special needs teachers are below par in terms of their experience and expertise of helping children with special needs. Some regular ed. teachers are effective at inspiring their students. I would not recommend this school for special needs children.


Warford Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
Home work is not adjusted to accommodate the needs of children with disabilities. This induces frustration in the child with disabilities and a feeling that they cannot succeed.

Warford Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
The principal has a vendetta against special needs children and believes they need "more discipline" from home.

Warford Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
The staff and administration lack honesty, integrity and fairness when faced with accommodating special needs children. If they believe a parent is ignorant of their rights or the rights of their special needs child as provided under I.D.E.A., they will work to effectively bully the parent into thinking there is nothing more they can offer the child. Then they categorize the child as having behavioral issues unrelated to their disability and refuse to document suspensions for these "behaviors."


Warford Elementary School 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
This school does not accommodate special needs children. The Lead Sped Coordinator and administration, especially the principal, seek to bully parents and special needs students out of their rights and grossly violate I.D.E.A.. If you have a child with special needs in this school, I recommend you reach out to an advocate for advocacy assistance. You should know you have a long and laborious road ahead to achieve accommodations for your child. I have walked in on my special needs child being yelled at by staff to "shut up." The staff and administration make a point to refuse properly documenting incidents involving special needs children. Contact an advocate and learn to demand your child's rights.

Warford Elementary School 4

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
I like this school. My daughter's teacher was very involved and anywhere my daughter was lacking she communicated that to me and also belief to improve my daughter's reading and math skills. My onlycomplaint is, I believe the food choices for the children should be revised and more nutritional and filling for breakfast and lunch. I didn't interact much with the principal he didn't seem too involved. However, the teachers made up for where he lacked.

Warford Elementary School 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went to this school, and it's not a good school for the disable, my daughter was bully everyday and the teacher and principal did not know what to do, the principal has a bad attitude, he judge my daughter before he new she was disabled, he tried to bully the kids in being good,instead of talking to them,I just don't think it's a good school


Warford Elementary School 3

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
The school itself I don't think is bad. However, the principal, from my experience, needs to be replaced. He has no consideration or apparently any experience working with children who have ADHD or other psychological/behavior disabilities. This is my son's second year (1st grade) and I cannot wait to get him out of this school and out of this district. The teacher he had last year was horrible, personality wise. She did everything possible to get my son out of her hair, whereas the teacher this year is great. More so, the principal is the problem, from my experiences. He is totally against alternative methods of discipline and totally against diverse methods of teaching for children with issues. I had to go as far as making a complaint with the Civil Rights Office through the Department of Education, due to the school's lack of effort to offer my son alternative solutions, before the principal just consistently threatens to kick him out of school. He actually did kick him out of school last year, but unfortunately, my son had to come back. He most definitely will not be attending this school for his 2nd grade year, or any other year for that matter.

Warford Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
The previous post about this school is inaccurate. The overall atmosphere of the school is poor; students are not treated with the respect that the school motto states, yet all students are required to repeat this every morning. My daughter has been bullied, first by one student and now by the entire classroom, since the beginning of the school year. The issue has not been effectively addressed at all and continues even while the teacher is present. In essence, the teachers do not care about their students. Teachers are unfair in their discipline and deal harshly with students when parents are not present (I've witnessed this). The principal is only concerned with test scores and attendance and not about the environment of his school and this effects learning and the way students and teachers treat each other. My advice would be to not send your child to this school if you are considering it. I am removing mine for their well-being before it is completely crushed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Warford Elementary School
11400 Cleveland, Kansas City, MO  64137
(816) 316-8150
Last modified Warford Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Warford Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top