Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Border Star Montessori

Public | PK-6 | 407 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2012

Borderstar is a wonderful school! I love the principal and all of the teachers are trained in montessori and certified. Both of my students are gifted and their support for these students is exceptional. I am also very impressed with all of the extracurricular offerings like violin and chess. I couldn't be happier with the teachers, the principal or the other families and programs - it's a great educational environment for children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

Mixed reviews. Definitely depends on your child's teacher. Border Star has several dedicated teachers who are wonderful, but also has many teachers who are overwhelmed & burned out. Might be better now that the principal has left. Better than most in the KCMO district. Great parents & a nice community, but the loss of KCMO's accreditation will drive many families who have a choice away. It's unfortunate for the others who don't have a choice. I don't feel like it is worth the tuition for preschool though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

A wonderful school, wonderful students, wonderful teachers, a wonderful community. We wanted to send our daughter here before she was even born, and we were very fortunate to get in. One of the few bright spots in the Kansas City School District, which would otherwise have forced us into private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

My 2 daughters have been attending Borderstar for 4 years now and absolutely love it. They are way more advanced than public school kids their age. My oldest learned multiplication in 1st grade and my youngest learned how to read & write in cursive in Kindergarten. Borderstar has a wonderful violin and piano lesson program starting in preschool and the teachers are patient and take great care to make sure each child learns before moving them further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

No way would I consider spending over 6k+ for pre-K at this lackluster school. I can get a smaller, private montessori preschool at the same price that actually knows my child and demonstrates a high level of caring and customer service that this school/district isn't capable of. My child won't be back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Great school! I wouldn't send our daughter to any other school in the KC area. Great principal, teachers and staff. A real cornerstone in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

We've been involved at Border Star since our son started attending 5 years ago. Our daughter started as a P3 3 years ago. I cannot say enough positive things about the principal and teacher quality. Both our children are doing as well or better than their friends who attend private schools. I am proud to tell people that my children attend public school - this public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

My children both attended this school for six years, my oldest graduated last year and is currently in middle school. Choosing Montessori and Border star was truly the best educational decision we have ever made. The prinicpal and staff are excellent, and while the overall school district has its problems, creating a Montessori program was something they have done well. My son, now a Junior, just got a 28 on his ACT and is in the IB program. This is due to a strong Montessori foundation which he will carry with him through college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

How disappointing that there are still parents who view Border Star as a 'free preeschool'. With a waiting list over 50 children long to get in for the P3 class, she is taking a spot from a parent that truly believes in the school. Only 10% of preschool families choose to take their children out. Border Star has the highest rating among all KCMSD schools for reading at or above grade level and among the lowest attrition rates. The Montessori system is not for everyone. In particular, it requires a strong relationship between student and teacher as well as Parent and Teacher. Our children are far ahead of their counterparts at both other KCMSD schools and those at Private schools. This may not be typical, but certainly the opportunity to excel at Border Star is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

We've been at the school for 4 years now and will be sending our youngest to Border Star next year. I consider the school to be one of the bright lights within the KCMSD. It does have to blend being a public school and all that entails with Maria Montessori's principles, but they must being doing something right as the school was recognized by AMI last year and continues to work on keeping that recognition. My husband and I have been very pleased with our daughter's teachers. She has thrived academically and made many friends. The best part of Border Star is how involved the parents are with everything. It really does feel like a BIG family. Mind you there are always things that could use some work, but no school is perfect and the committed parents, teachers, staff and students are ready to tackle whatever needs addressing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Fine as a free preschool, but most kids leave their Kindergarten year for private or charter schools because the elementary program isn't very good. We left when our son started falling behind in 1st grade. Lack of structure and clear expectations made transitioning to a traditional classroom difficult. Surprised this school isn't on the list to close - very few families in the neighborhood send their kids here for K-6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

Looks like a Montessori, but lacks the structure and individual attention that makes Montessori style learning possible. The school is trying to mesh Montessori principles with the district curriculum standards, and it's just not a good fit. The student body's socioeconomic advantage relative to other KCMSD schools makes Border Star look better than it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I love this school since my daughter has attended this school she has learned so much and i also like that the parents are so involved in the school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

We have been parents at this school for 8 years now & truly love it. The new principal has make some excellent changes, revitalizing the staff and parents! The aftercare program is no longer outsourced and is a more positive experience now. My children have thrived with the Montessori methods. There is a wonderful community feel to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

I am a former after-school volunteer for Border Star Elementary. My experience there was mixed. The students are like any others: some are eager to learn, some are more of a challenge. By and large, though, they are great. The staff was more of a concern, however. I can't speak directly about the teachers; only the after-school workers. But I sensed a negative environment between student and adults. Staff frequently yelled at students, sometimes for their attention, sometimes for humiliation. The school is thought to be a Montessori school, but seemed to lack the structure, support and expertise required for that kind of learning. I'm sorry to give a bad report, but I feel parents should know.


Posted August 15, 2005

I am very pleased with my child going to this school. The teachers truly care about each individual child and their development as a whole. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants a one on one learning experience that you can not find in a standard school setting! My four year old truly enjoys going to school and has blossomed academically as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students32%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 74%
Black 42% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Hispanic 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 3:50 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Collier
Fax number
  • (816) 418-5165

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6321 Wornall Road
Kansas City, MO 64113
Website: Click here
Phone: (816) 418-5150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Peter's School
Kansas City, MO


B. Banneker Academy
Kansas City, MO


Academie Lafayette
Kansas City, MO


University Academy-Lower
Kansas City, MO


Troost Elementary School
Kansas City, MO


Visitation School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT