Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Paseo is a great school art programs are phenomenal . the school is clean safe and the teachers are great this is one of the best public high schools in Kansas City in my opinion

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 4

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school but they need to expel kids that are constantly bullying the same kids. This is the only problem and I think the teachers are great but the VP doesn't follow thru with certain things. Maybe if the school had more money it could be used for their special needs class.


Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 3

Posted April 06, 2012
- a teacher
Pros: They have a great library and the staff is very friendly. All the arts programs are well funded and award winning. The building is fairly new (opened in 1991). The halls are filled with top quality art projects. There are field trips nearly every week. Cons: There are field trips nearly every week. The core subjects suffer. Discipline at Paseo is lacking. From the principal on down the school gives students far too many chances. Teacher turnover is high. Attendance is low. Classrooms are not equipped with Smart Boards like many nearby schools have. Much of the technology they have is not being used to it s full potential. There are no sports. The custodial staff could be better managed. There is a sink in the bathroom that has been leaking for months all over the floor.

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 5

Posted September 30, 2008
- a student
Paseo does suffer from some of the organizational problems that plague all KMSD schools, but that is more than made up for by an incredible level of energy and enthusiasm for learning and creativity that is contagious. I felt perfectly prepared for college. There are lots of opportunities for driven students to live up to their best potential in math, science and English as well as the arts. However, I would not recommend Paseo for students who have no ambition and need to be pushed to succeed, because that will not happen.

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts
no rating

Posted August 28, 2007
- a student
I attended Paseo and I feel that it was not a the best school! There are so many things that we as students and as teachers could change to make it better. We have no sports. So many students are missing out on scholarships and the oppurtunity on attendeding college for free and there on this whole kick about how we should focus more on our majors but they hardly even do that.


Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 5

Posted August 26, 2007
- a student
I went to Paseo and I gained knowledge and real life problem-solving skills that will carry me the rest of my life..

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 4

Posted June 06, 2007
- a student
i attend paseo and i know i have a really cool school, but there are somethings i know my school could work on to make me feel even more proud about attending paseo. i dont feel that all of my teachers are here because they want to help young minds grow, but i feel they are only here to make a paycheck. we have ALOT of differen programs that are fun and educational but we dont have fieldtrips that allow us to take our learnings to a higher level, and i would love it if we did.

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 4

Posted October 19, 2006
- a student
Yes Paseo is the school to be at. We have great academics, were learning, we have numerous extra curricular activites and it's all about the arts.


Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts 4

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
This is a great school because of the teachers!It's hard to be an inner city school but we have some of the best programs.My daughter loves debate and Paseo has the Best debate teacher and program ever.Most of the schools in the Kansas City area don't even get to go to out of state debate competitions.Not only do our student go but out school district pays for all the cost.Last year my daughter got to go to UCLA for a two week debate camp.Something that I couldn't have afforded to do for her.Debate is only one of the many college minded programs at Paseo.Every year there is a Shakespeare's competition for theater students and countless theater productions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts
4747 Flora Ave., Kansas City, MO  64110
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (816) 418-2275
Last modified Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top