Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
10-12
Public
Kearney, MO
Students enrolled: 916

3 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kearney High School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
Kearney High School and all of the school in Kearney are excellent. We moved here to keep the kids from going to a HS in the NKC district and were so glad we did. Amazing difference.

Kearney High School 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
All schools have good and bad aspects but for an overall quality education, access to a multitude of extra-curricular activities, and teachers and staff that care, you can't top Kearney. My children are not star athletes nor the star students but these teachers have gone out of their way to help each of my children recognize their potential. And the support of this community is amazing! Maybe I shouldn't write this...it may give away the secret of this fabulous district and people will flock here. Scratch everything I just said!


Kearney High School 1

Posted May 26, 2013
- a community member
IMO, this is such a dissappointing school ... Academics and getting kids ready for college and real life just doesn't seem to be a priority, and the decision making within this district baffles me.

Kearney High School 1

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Very poor school. Caters to Athletics and Gifted students. My children only had 2 teachers that cared about their progress in the 8 years they attended there. Liberty schools are MUCH better, send your kids there.

Kearney High School 5

Posted September 11, 2011
- a parent
Both of my son and daughter have attended school Kearney schools and it was a great experience for each one. The community's involvement with the schools and the extra curricular activities is something I've never experienced or seen anywhere before. Not to mention the solid education they received and guidance to continue building on that foundation with their college career. I have nothing to but good things too say about Kearney and am grateful for the positive experience my children had there.


Kearney High School 1

Posted July 11, 2010
- a student
Their "no child left behind" program actually does leave your child behind. Do NOT put your child in these schools if they have any kind of academic problems. Even the smallest learning disabilities are NOT given adequate attention at all of the Kearney schools. I was a transfer student and attended elementry thru 7th grade and no better off when I quit school. I am now learning far more from an online high school program than I ever did in Kearney schools. Additionally, many teachers allow exceptional kids to tease the other kids. Many clicks and favortisim exist in the Kearney School district, and not just among students. There are ample parent clicks as well that exclude certain parents if their kids are not gifted in sports are academically.

Kearney High School 0
no rating

Posted December 21, 2009
- a parent
If your child is good academically and/or good/great in sports, then this is the school for you. Otherwise, if your child has any social problems whatsoever, or has any learning problem of any kind--not matter how small-- then this is not the school for you. They do not give even the smallest learning disabled children or tennagers the time that is required to come up to speed. Kearney spends the most time with the smart and gifted students.

Kearney High School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
As a former student graduating this year in the class of 2009 I can say that without a doubt this is one of the best schools in the state. Not only do they have great academics but they also have many great sports teams. The atmosphere of the town is fantastic and there are few better public high schools in the nation.


Kearney High School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful teachers and parents who truly care about the quality of education the children receive.

Kearney High School 4

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
i have been in different districts. We have 5 children and have had them in Kearney 6 years. Two graduated 2009. We would not go anywhere else!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kearney High School
715 East 19th St, Kearney, MO  64060
(816) 628-4585
Last modified Kearney High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kearney High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top