Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Glendale Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
There are some good teachers and there are some terrible teachers. I'm a firm believer that an organization is only as strong as its weakest member. There are quite a few weak members.

North Glendale Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
The primary goals of this school are test scores and maintaining a positive image. Period.


North Glendale Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
There are some loving, tuned-in teachers and the principal is a caring man, however, his leadership has caused him to hire some seriously bad teachers who are completely lacking in their ability to connect with kids.

North Glendale Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
It's hard to develop integrity when it's totally lacking from the leadership, in my opinion.

North Glendale Elementary School 2

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
We completely agree with Sept. 21, 2014 and Jan. 3, 2016 posts. We strongly encourage those with concerns to contact the District Office like we did. The more they are made aware of the issues, the better. Being a nice person does not equal a strong leader, and NG students are suffering under this principal. We are also planning to move out of the district. We couldn't be more disheartened by our kids' experiences at the school; thank goodness they no longer go there.


North Glendale Elementary School 2

Posted January 03, 2016
- a community member
I agree 100% with the September 21, 2014 parent. I have three children that have/are attending there. One I pulled in the beginning of his 4th grade year and homeschooled him. He is now at Nipher and that is a great school. One has learning disabilities and is struggling and they are not addressing his needs in the right way. The youngest one has been doing fine. I have found the younger grades have been fine, but starting in 3rd grade things go down hill. We are looking to move out of the area.

North Glendale Elementary School 2

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
An inviting facility and positive community. Some strong teachers. Principal is very warm. However, we had a horrible experience causing us to lose our trust in the school. When confronted with issues/concerns, the principal's poor leadership skills quickly become apparent. He is unable to balance meeting natural needs of children, common concerns of parents, and support for his staff. He is quick to be defensive, does not follow through or follow up. This results in systemic issues in the school (poor communication, no accountability for weak staff, and veteran teachers being given unreasonable control over areas in which he is clearly uncomfortable leading, to name a few). Instead of taking a stand for what is best for children, his defensiveness and blind support for his staff rule his decision making. He is truly a nice guy, but an insecure leader. We were astounded by our experience and withdrew our child mid-year due to poor leadership, a very weak teacher, aggressive staff unable to be self-reflective, and *exorbitant* amounts of standardized test preparation. We now feel we cannot send any of our children to NG. A devastating experience for our child and us.

North Glendale Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a parent
I have had two children at this school. One is still there. It is an excellent school. The teachers and administration are dedicated to the students. The academic standards are high. But truly the best part of the school is the community involvement and spirit.


North Glendale Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
my husband and i are both teachers, so we are very particular about our kids' education. north glendale has outstanding educators, excellent administration, and a wonderful community that is very involved. academics and discipline are top notch.

North Glendale Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2008
- a parent
I just love the school. It is a great community school. Lots of parent involvment and dedicated teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Glendale Elementary School
765 North Sappington Rd, Kirkwood, MO  63122
(314) 213-6130
Last modified North Glendale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Glendale Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top