Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mason Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2013

Great school! My son was so sad when summer break came, he wanted to stay in school. The principle is great, she makes so much effort with the students. She will personally help children who are strruggling with a subject. It's a very close-knit school. The class sizes are small. And the teachers are wonderful with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

One word...Terrible! If you love your children, be very cautious! Not all schools are created equal and this principal and staff prove it. We literally sold our home and moved to another area just to get our children out of this school. Look around before committing to send your children here...worst of the worst! Free babysitting-YES, education-NO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

This is my son's first year at Mason and we have been thrilled with the education he is receiving. There is a small town feel at Mason. Everyone is friendly and very welcoming. My child has had an issue with another student and it was address immediately and resolved. I volunteer often and am pleased with what I see. So far we could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

Administration is terrible...and worst of all the children are not being educated. Ask around, the only reason they have high test scores is because the kids are so far behind because of the lack of true education that the teachers "teach" kids the answers to the MAP test. Never go by test scores...they mean nothing. The teachers administer the tests, give the kids the answers and it keeps the superintendant away. This also allows the principal to be gone and not actually be present in the building...ever. As a parent who loves my children and is not looking for a babysitter, I pulled my children from this school and moved from this area to another in Lee's Summit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

Our kids are entering their third year at Mason and we have been thrilled with the education they are receiving. The teachers really seem to take an interest in each child and have been very responsive to any questions or concerns. We have been very impressed with the wide array of teaching strategies used to help every child learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I took responsibility for trying hard to make this uncomfortable environment work for our family. After 3 yrs, nothing has changed no matter how involved I have become in PTA and room parent activities. The principle, secretary and counselor are the most unwelcoming, condescending and unfriendly people I have encountered at a public school. As a new parent, when I had a question, it was clear that they felt I should not have asked. After asking the counselor to check in on my 1st grader, it was ignored and the situation became worse. After softly inquiring with several other parents-the consensus was that the counselor and principle were ineffective and the worst in our district. Don't expect them to even speak to you or your child-not even hello. My child was badly injured there and they never phoned or asked about him after being in the hospital.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

Mason is a wonderful school for any child. I have watched my own child grow tremendously this year. My family moved to this school this year and I am so glad we did. We had heard great things about the staff and everything has been true. The teachers truly have my child in their best interest. I would recommend Mason to anyone wanting the best education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

All three of my children have attended Mason elementary. Two of my children now attend LSN. We have have virtually every teacher in the school and have been happy with all of them. I know a lot of Mason students who are now in Jr and Sr high school. They tend to be well prepared and excel. The people that I do know who have had issues at Mason tend to be people who feel that the entire education process is the responsibility of the school. Mason has strong parental involvement and I think that is what makes it so good. It is a small town feel with great educational results. I am a LSHS graduate and have appreciated my education since I left. I am so glad that my children are getting the same experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

This school is not fit for your worst enemy's child. My daughter's teacher was awful...Lazy, dishonest and most of all humiliating. After sending e-mails that weren't returned I went to the principal and was basically told that the teacher is ALWAYS right. They are not concerned about the kids, the staff is unfriendly and uninviting. If your child isn't troubled or dumb, there is no place for them here. They cater to the underdog. I have pulled my 'normal, average' child from this school and would never recommend anyone send their child here. Ask for a district transfer or try private!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Mason is a great school! The family atmosphere at Mason helps bring you into the school and the community. We moved here 2 years ago and Mason teachers and parents welcomed us and embraced our children readily. The PTA sponsors a variety of programs including cultural arts, international day, ecology, and more on top of all the fundraising. The district works hard to make sure the school has the tools they need to educate the kids. Teachers clamor to be hired at Mason. The music, art, band and PE programs are awesome and very age appropriate. Grads seem well-prepared for Middle School. Check out the test scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

My daughter went to this school for two years. When a problem arose I went to the teacher, the counselor, and finally the principal to no avail. I felt that the concerns I voiced fell upon deaf ears as nothing changed and the problems continued. I ended up changing schools for my daughter and it turned out to be the best thing I could have done for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students72%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students86%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 74%
Black 4% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27600 Colbern Rd
Lee's Summit, MO 64086
Phone: (816) 986-2330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT