Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2015
- a student
Best Elementary School in Lees Summit. Highest MAP scores and the building is brand new.

Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
My son attended here K-6, and my daughter (now in 3rd) has been here since K. This school is incredible! We've had fantastic teachers, including Art, PE, and Music teachers. Both my kids absolutely love this school! My middle schooler enjoys going back to say hi to his teachers. The parent involvement is exceptional, the PTA is very dedicated, and there are great activities in addition to core curriculum. HPE is an English as a Second Language School so that influences test scores some, but my kid's academic experience and overall experience has been terrific!! I feel spoiled and fortunate to have kids attending this school.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2010
- a parent
Amazing teachers, incredible administration. I don't have any idea what the parent who posted on Sept. 10, 2009, was talking about. If you look at the MAP scores, HPE scored in the top schools in the district in nearly every category. The 6th graders were #1 in the entire district in at least 2 of the disciplines. Furthermore, if you look at the statistics statewide, HPE students have consistently scored in the top 10 in the ENTIRE state in their MAP testing. Unequivocally one of the best schools in the district.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent with children that attend HPE and have had children attending since the school opened. I am very impressed with the quality of the education but the commitment of the staff to focus on our children. The school actually scored quite high on test scores last year thus the high rating on this site, this comes from excellence in teaching. We have actually passed up moving to stay at this elementary school until our children are out of elementary.


Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent and have a child at Highland Park and I am not at all statisfied with the way things are run. There is not enough classroom suupport. There are too many children in each class from K-6th. I am just not happy with the teacher ratio at all. Eventhough, we as parents pay are taxes (which keep going up every year) I feel our children are not getting the quality education they deserve as compared with such distrcts as Johnson county, Overland Park, KS. (Just take a look at the overall MAP scorces at highland Park, it's not good!!). We did not do good on our state testing last year. Our children either need more qualified teachers and helpers in the classroom or they need to be provided some type of before or after assistance.

Highland Park Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
Overall the school is a wonderful well balanced school. I have 2 children that attend. My only concern is the reading teacher that has been there for years. It seems like most of the children that have gone to her are being placed in additional special needs classes because she is not able to assist with their reading. If you have a student that needs additional support with reading, you may want to find resources outside of the school district so that your child will be successful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park Elementary School
400 SE Millstone Ave, Lee's Summit, MO  64063
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (816) 986-2250
Last modified Highland Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top