Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summit Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 & ungraded | 725 students

Our school is best known for its excellent academics in a Christian environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in Lee's Summit

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

This is a wonderful school! The faculty and staff are excellent! The academic rigor make it one of the top private Christian schools in the nation and the quality of education is beyond compare! We love this school for our children and in the world we live in, it is hard to find a place that is truly a "summit" for both education and Christian education! My children are very different, and the school teaches to each student so that they are able to understand what is being taught! We have been here 3 years and it has been the BEST academic and social years in school for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2013

SCA is a good school and the students here have more moral character than most. Most of the teachers here care about the students and provide quality teaching. SCA provides dual credit college classes (better than AP classes.) My only complaint is they don't have as many extracurricular activities as some other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

I can't say enough great things about SCA. If you are looking for a quality education with a caring and positive environment for your children, this is the school! Our children love the school and it has had a tremendous impact on all of our lives. The families are great and the teachers and administration are wonderful. Take a tour and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Summit Christian Academy has been molding our kids for the past 6 years. The teachers all have degrees, many have their Masters, they are compassionate and genuinely care about the students. The curriculum is challenging and teachers expect students to rise to the challenge and they do! Test scores are proof that SCA students are exceeding the state and national averages. It is so exciting to be a part of an environment where parent's input is welcomed and students have respect and discipline. There are tons of opportunities in athletics, fine arts, and clubs. The Head of School, Academic Dean, and principals are great visionaries who allow the Lord to lead them. Students start and end each day with prayer, they have chapel time each week, and they encourage and pray for each other. Biblical truths are interwoven into the class subjects and bible verses are memorized weekly. We have an online system so we can monitor student grades and lunch accounts too. Sending our kids to SCA has been such a positive experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

Summit Christian Academy is an amazing school that provides a spiritual atmosphere with a very challenging rigorous academic program. The teachers are extremely well qualified and show compassion, kindness and love to each and every student. I am so happy that my grandchildren are attending this fantastic school. As a retired public school teacher, I realize that there is no greater blessing as a grandparent than to have my grandchildren attend Summit Christian Academy.


Posted October 25, 2007

My oldest daughter attended LSCCS and recently graduated. She is attending Baylor University on an academic scholarship, one of 2900 chosen from close to 30,000 applicants. The academic preparation she received, combined with full access to quality athletice and fine arts extra-curricular activities is a testament to the stellar standards this school upholds. The facilities beautiful and well-maintained. The teachers are the cream of the crop. This is a unique fully-accredited Christian school that serves over 740 preschool through 12th-grade students from over 140 area churches. The school is non-denominational and does not teach church doctrine as part of the curriculum. Instead, the basic biblical precepts of Christianity are integrated in a balanced way. Teachers are certified, highly qualified and dedicated to the overall development and well-being of the students. Families are of a very high calibur. You should definately check this out if your looking for top-notch Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

My granddaughter attended kindergarten here and loved the school and her wonderful teacher. The older students are helpful to the young ones and I saw no bullying from anyone. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

LSCCS is one of the best schools in the region. Our children have attended LSCCS for three years, and their experience has been wonderful. The academic program is significantly stronger than I expected when we initially considered private education. The teachers have been very communicative with us, and they are among the best in the Kansas City area. We highly recommend LSCCS to any family that values the key formative years of their children's lives. The environment is safe, nurturing and well-structured. The administration seems to pay attention to the details that provide a milieu where kids can learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

A very narrow minded legalistic type of Christianity taught here. Salaries are too low to get many quality teachers, so the bottom of the barral is used. Childres creativity and personalities are crushed with their over zealous twist of the truth about Christ and Christianity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

Wow! what a great school my daughter has attended school here since she was 4 years old. The school has continued to grow in all the areas. We will have our new high school in december or 2005. Her class started out at 23 and now is 52 students in the 8th grade and growing strong. I believe god has blessed this school because of the christian character it teaches the students. - Michell hansen 12/13/2004
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

My child transferred here during his senior year. He was welcomed and accepted with such kindness by the staff, students, and parents. They made the transition a very pleasant one. I am very thankful for the quality education and leadership that LSCCS has. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My child has gone here for 6 years and has a very well rounded education from academic to extracurricular activities and spiritual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 77%
Black 5% 17%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 18% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 82% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Missouri
Southwest Baptist University
Pepperdine University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Special Project Award - Lee's Summit Parks & Recreation (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Linda Harrelson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • chanteleferguson@sca-kc.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (816) 525-5402

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Dual Credit Courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Dance Team
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Forensics club
  • International Club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student Ambassadors
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are an independent, nondenominational Christian school, with students from over 150 different churches. Students consistently rank 28-30 percent above the national average on Stanford Achievement Tests. Our mission is to inspire students to achieve their God-given potential through excellent academics and Christian training in a compassionate environment.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$2000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Missouri
Southwest Baptist University
Pepperdine University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 18%
4 year college - 82%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 SW Jefferson St
Lee's Summit, MO 64081
Website: Click here
Phone: (816) 525-1480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Miller Park Center
Lee's Summit, MO



Langsford House
Lee's Summit, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT