Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 381 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

Amazing! Both my kids were able to transfer from the heavily populated elementary school to Woodland and it has been fantastic!! My son no longer gets in trouble and my daughter is learning accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

I was very disappointed in this school and transfered my children mid-year. There is little to no communication with the principal. When you do try to pin him down on something he denies ever receiving communications from you. My first grader was suppose to be on a field trip to the zoo. When I picked him up from daycare I found out that he was actually at Crown Center all day due to weather. This would not have been a had I known....that is what the call system is for. According to my child (couldn't get a response from a responsible adult) he was embarrassed in his classroom, in front of his peers by the school counselor. She asked him personal questions that should have been asked to me instead of him. He was in second grade at the time. I understand that my family is not the norm. My children were adopted from foster care. While I didn't share with the school all the details of their past, they knew enough. I felt that the school counselor was just completely unaware or didn't care about the damage that she could do to a child that had the kind of background that he did. Unfortunately, damage was done and now almost a year later we are dealing with the ramifications.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Great school. Great faculty. I suggest going here it has great leadership and self building assments. My kids loved the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

I have a sone in 5th grade and a daughter in 3rd grade at Woodland. Both have been at the school since kindergarten. I have been impressed with the level of commitment in this school to both academics and the arts. The music and art programs are exceptional. A high level of parental involvement is welcomed and parental input is encouraged. My son is being tested for the gifted program and my daughter needed remedial reading and I was pleased with the dedication towards both of them in helping them excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Great school, wonderful teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My experience has not been too great. My son has been at Woodland for three years now and each year it seems like he keeps getting gruff teachers. It seems as though the older the teachers get, the more bitter, negative and intolerant they are. Last year they labeled my 6 year-old a bully within 2 weeks of school and for the rest of yr there was friction in the air. I have had several run-in's since then with the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

My two girls have attended this school first grade through sixth grade, and we have nothing but great things to say about it. The Principal leads the school with a positive attitude and puts the students first. He greets them and the parents by name and with a smile. The teachers' have been very attentive to the differences in both of my girls' learning styles, and the girls have excelled academically. The music and band programs are excellent as well at Woodland, and it carries on throughout the district. Parental involvement is highly encouraged and supported here as well. I could not have asked for a better elementary school experience for my daughters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

This is a new school, it is out in the country and everything about it is wonderful. Our children have been to a few schools and they never want to leave this one. My son doesn't want to go into 7th grade because he likes it so much. They have great programs for children with disibilties like slow reading and writing. All of the teachers put the children first. When you go to special events all of the kids have smiles and say hi to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students82%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students66%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 75%
Black 5% 17%
Hispanic 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12709 South Smart Rd
Lee's Summit, MO 64086
Phone: (816) 986-2360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mason Elementary School
Lee's Summit, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT